DriversRecommendedOutdated drivers can make a good PC feel brokenScan driver issues before chasing fixes manually.Scan NowHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan Now×
FREEDOM251

Freedom251 › Blog › Canada

Canada plans $1.5B–$1.8B Ottawa-area data centre for CSE, but approval is pending

By Freedom251 Team · · 4 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Canada is planning a secure data-centre facility in the Ottawa area for the Communications Security Establishment (CSE), with an estimated cost of $1.5 billion to $1.8 billion. The disclosed concept is a 60-megawatt site for government security and technology modernization—not a public cloud facility—and the federal government had not approved proceeding when the proposal was reported on October 15, 2026.

What the Ottawa data-centre proposal is

The project is intended to expand CSE’s capacity for secure government operations, national-security work and long-term technology modernization. CSE is Canada’s cyber and signals-intelligence agency, so the planned site would support sovereign federal capabilities rather than commercial customers or consumer services.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Defence Construction Canada published an advance procurement notice describing a facility in the national capital region. A contemporaneous reproduction of that notice identifies a planned electrical capacity of 60 MW, alongside relatively small office and shipping-and-receiving areas.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The notice uses the wording “To increase its capacity in supporting the mid to long-term objectives related to operations, security, and technology modernization, the Government of Canada is planning to design and construction a data centre facility within the national capital region.”

#1 Best Overall
Tecmojo 6U Wall Mount Server Cabinet IT Network Rack Enclosure Lockable Door and Side Panels Black, Cooling Fan, Standard Glass Door, 450mm Depth, for 19” IT Equipment, A/V Devices
  • Save valuable floor space: 6U wall mount server cabinet Dimensions: 13.78" H x21.65" W x17.72" D.Maximum mounting depth is 14.2"
  • Keep critical network equipment secure: glass door and side panels are lockable to prevent unauthorized access. Front door can be installed on either side of the front of the cabinet to satisfy your door swing orientation preference
  • Easy equipment configuration: Fully adjustable mounting rails and numbered U positions, with square holes for easy equipment mounting with top and bottom punch-out panels for easy cable access
  • Durability: Made of high quality cold rolled steel holds up to 110lb (50kg) (Easy Assembly Required)
  • PCI & HIPPA and EIA/ECA-310-E compliant

Cost, size and schedule disclosed so far

Item What has been disclosed Status or qualification
Estimated capital cost $1.5 billion to $1.8 billion Estimate reported from Defence Construction Canada material in 2026; it is not a final contract value.
Electrical capacity 60 MW Described in a reproduction of the advance procurement notice; the notice does not publicly detail the computing equipment or final design.
Location Ottawa area, within the national capital region A specific site has not been publicly identified.
Tender timing Expected in 2027 Timing stated in the reproduced notice and subject to government decisions.
Construction completion Not stated No public completion date was available.
Approval to proceed Not approved at the time of publication The procurement notice signals planning, not authorization to build.

A 60-MW figure describes the facility’s planned power capacity. It does not, by itself, reveal how many servers will be installed, what workloads they will run or how much usable computing capacity the finished centre will provide.

Who would use it and why it matters

CSE’s secure mission

The intended user is CSE, with the centre supporting classified or otherwise sensitive federal operations. CSE says it does not disclose specific operational and technical requirements beyond public information because doing so could affect national security and operational integrity.

Modernizing sovereign infrastructure

CSE described the initiative as part of “broader defence investments” to “modernize the secure infrastructure and capabilities needed to respond to evolving threats and support Canada’s national security and defence priorities.” That framing connects physical data-centre capacity with cyber defence, signals intelligence and the federal government’s ability to control critical systems inside Canada.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Not a public cloud campus

Nothing in the disclosed notice describes a facility open to outside businesses, public-cloud customers or consumer applications. Its purpose is government operations, security and modernization under CSE’s mandate.

Rank #2
Tecmojo 12U Wall Mount Server Cabinet IT Network Rack Enclosure Lockable Door and Side Panels Black,Cooling Fan,Glass Door,17.7inch Depth,for 19” IT Equipment,A/V Devices
  • Save valuable floor space: 12U wall mount server cabinet Dimensions: 24.25" H x21.65" W x17.72" D. MAXIMUM MOUNTING DEPTH is 14.2".
  • Keep critical network equipment secure: glass door and side panels are lockable to prevent unauthorized access; Front door can be installed on either side of the front of the cabinet to satisfy your door swing orientation preference
  • Easy equipment configuration: Fully adjustable mounting rails and numbered U positions, with square holes for easy equipment mounting with top and bottom punchout panels for easy cable access
  • Durability: Made of high quality cold rolled steel holds up to 110lb (50kg) (Easy Assembly Required)
  • PCI & HIPPA and EIA/ECA-310-E compliant

Has the federal government approved construction?

No. The material available when the proposal was reported said the government had not approved proceeding with the new data centre. An advance procurement notice can help industry prepare for a possible tender, but it is not the same as a construction award, project sanction or guaranteed expenditure.

That distinction is important for both the cost range and the schedule. The $1.5-billion-to-$1.8-billion figure may change as the scope, site, design and procurement model are finalized. Likewise, an expected 2027 tender is a planning target rather than a confirmed bid deadline.

What remains undisclosed

For security reasons, CSE has not published detailed requirements such as classification levels, resilience architecture, backup arrangements, network topology, physical-security measures or the specific missions to be hosted. The public notice also does not establish the eventual site, grid-connection plan, water system, cooling technology, contractor, financing structure or operating date.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Those omissions are not evidence that the project lacks a defined need; they reflect the limits CSE places on public disclosure. More precise comparisons will require later official procurement documents and approvals.

Rank #3
Tecmojo 4U Wall Mount Rack,4U Rack 14 inch Depth,19" Network Rack for Shallow Server and IT Equipment, Network Switches,Patch Panel Bracket,110lbs(50kg) Weight Capacity,Black
  • Sturdy:4u server rack is construct from cold rolled steel, with a weight capacity of 110lbs(50kg); Electrostatic powder coat prevents rust and corrosion,quality finish
  • Direct use:Open and use, not having to assemble it.Network rack can be placed flat or mounted on the wall,also can be installed vertically under the table
  • Design Features:maximum mounting depth of 14 in,cables can be fixed on the side panel;Open frame server rack achieves effortless inspection, replacement and assemble
  • Installation:wall mount network rack is easy to install,with instructions or videos for reference;Equipped with multiple accessories, suitable for different needs
  • Application:EIA/ECA-310-E Compliant;wall mounted 4u rack fits all 19" racks and cabinets to hold various IT, network, and AV equipment;wall mount rack available in 4U, 6U, and 8U to choose
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Environmental and local-impact questions

The proposal arrives amid a broader federal data-centre framework that emphasizes lasting local benefits, protection against shifting electricity costs onto Canadians, reduced water use and environmental impacts, transparency about local effects, and strategic value for Canada.

At the time covered here, that framework was described as policy guidance rather than legally binding project conditions. Its principles therefore indicate the issues the government is expected to consider, but they do not guarantee a particular power contract, water footprint, emissions result, community benefit or approval requirement for this facility.

For Ottawa-area residents and utilities, the practical questions will include where 60 MW would be connected, how peak demand is managed, what cooling resources are required, and how construction and ongoing operations affect the surrounding community. None of those project-specific answers had been released.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What to watch next

  1. Formal approval: confirmation that the federal government has authorized the project to proceed.
  2. Procurement documents: the tender expected in 2027, including delivery model, eligibility and security requirements.
  3. Site and grid details: the selected location and how its electrical demand will be supplied.
  4. Design disclosures: permitted information about resilience, cooling, water use and environmental controls.
  5. Budget updates: any change from the preliminary $1.5-billion-to-$1.8-billion estimate and the publication of a construction schedule.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

CanadaCommunications Security EstablishmentData CentresFederal Governmentnational securityOttawa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.