Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan Now×
FREEDOM251

Freedom251 › Blog › cloud games

Can You Play Paper Perjury and Shadow of Justice Offline on Switch? (October 2026 status)

By Freedom251 Team · · 7 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

As of 18 October 2026, no. Neither Paper Perjury nor Paper Perjury 2: Shadow of Justice has a released Nintendo Switch version that you can install and play offline today. Paper Perjury is announced for Switch and Switch 2 in 2027, while Shadow of Justice is announced for 2028 and has been described in available coverage as a Switch 2 release. The developers have not published either game’s offline policy, cloud status, or first-launch internet requirement, so an offline guarantee is not possible yet.

What is actually available now

The current store information describes Paper Perjury as a Steam game; it does not show a Nintendo Switch edition for sale. That means there is no Switch download, cartridge, or cloud listing to install for a flight, commute, or other connection-free session. The sequel is also a future release rather than a product you can download today.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Game Position reported on 18 October 2026 What that means for offline play now
Paper Perjury Switch and Switch 2 version announced for 2027 No released Switch product to install; offline behavior has not been stated
Paper Perjury 2: Shadow of Justice 2028 release reported; coverage describes it as Switch 2-only, with final platform details still subject to confirmation No released Switch 2 product to install; offline behavior has not been stated

The 2027 and 2028 dates are announced release windows, not guaranteed launch days. A window can move, and a platform announcement can be refined before a store page goes live.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What has been announced about each game

Paper Perjury: planned for both Switch generations

October 2026 announcement coverage places the first game on Nintendo Switch and Nintendo Switch 2 in 2027. Until Nintendo or Paper Cat Games publishes a live product listing, there is no edition to buy on either console. The announcement does not say whether the release will be a native download, a cartridge, a cloud version, or a combination of formats.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Those distinctions matter because the console name alone does not tell you whether the game can run without a network. A native build stored on the console or cartridge is technically different from a cloud build streamed from a remote server.

Shadow of Justice: later release with a Switch 2 question

Paper Perjury 2: Shadow of Justice is reported for 2028. Available coverage describes the sequel as planned for Switch 2, while an interview says the console plans follow the Steam release. Those statements do not establish a final Nintendo platform list, so owners of the original Switch should not assume compatibility.

No Nintendo listing, cartridge announcement, or title-specific connectivity policy has been published for the sequel. In practical terms, there is currently no way to verify whether a future Switch 2 edition will continue working in airplane mode after installation.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Why “offline” depends on the release format

Native download or cartridge

A native game runs code installed on the console or read from a cartridge. Such games often support single-player use without a continuous connection, but “often” is not a promise for these titles. A publisher can require an account check, a one-time entitlement verification, a content download, or a patch before play. The final Nintendo product page and the game’s own support documentation must answer those questions.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

If a future listing identifies a standard download or cartridge and does not state that an internet connection is required, that is encouraging for travel use, but it still does not prove that initial setup is connection-free. Set up the game at home, launch it once while online, install any update, and test it in airplane mode before relying on it away from Wi-Fi.

Cloud version

A cloud version does not execute the complete game locally. The Switch sends input to a server and receives the video stream, so the session depends on a live connection. Nintendo’s Cloud Versions of Games FAQ states: “The cloud version requires a stable connection to high-speed internet to play.” That general guidance applies to cloud releases; it does not establish that either Paper Perjury title will use cloud streaming.

If a future store page labels one of these games “Cloud Version,” assume it is unsuitable for a flight or any location without reliable high-speed internet. A downloaded launcher or a small local file would not change that requirement.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

First-launch checks and recurring checks

There are three separate questions to check when a listing appears:

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
  • Initial setup: Must the console connect to verify the purchase, download data, or complete account registration?
  • Recurring authentication: Does the game check a server every time it starts, or only occasionally?
  • Gameplay connection: After setup, can the single-player content run with Wi-Fi and mobile data disabled?

The developers have not published answers for either title. Do not convert the absence of an “online required” notice in an announcement into an offline guarantee.

Can you play either game on a flight?

Not today, because neither game has a released Nintendo version. For the future, the answer will depend on the exact edition you buy and whether you complete its setup before boarding.

Checklist before travelling

  1. Confirm that the listing says Nintendo Switch or Nintendo Switch 2, rather than assuming an original-Switch purchase runs on the newer system or vice versa.
  2. Check whether the product is labelled a native download, cartridge, or cloud version.
  3. Read the listing’s “Internet,” “Online play,” “Supported play modes,” and player-count fields.
  4. Download the complete game and every available update while connected at home.
  5. Start the game once with your Nintendo Account signed in, then close it normally.
  6. Enable airplane mode, disable Wi-Fi, and launch the title again. Test the specific story or single-player mode you intend to use.
  7. If the game fails at any step, record the exact error and restore connectivity before travelling; do not rely on a cloud listing for offline use.

This test also catches storage and update problems. A console that has never completed the first launch may appear to have an offline problem when it simply has not finished installation or entitlement verification.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Does Nintendo Switch Online matter?

Nintendo Switch Online and ordinary internet access are different requirements. Nintendo Switch Online is a subscription used for eligible online console features. A game can require internet access for a cloud stream or account check without requiring that subscription, and a game can offer optional online features that use the subscription while leaving its single-player mode offline-capable.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

For these two unreleased titles, no listing identifies a Nintendo Switch Online requirement. When the pages go live, look for separate fields for online play, supported modes, player count, and subscription requirements. “Nintendo Switch Online required” would concern a particular online feature; it would not by itself prove that the entire game needs a connection for solo play.

How to check the official listing when it appears

Nintendo’s store pages provide the most useful checkpoint for a purchase decision. Use this sequence rather than relying on a retailer headline or an old announcement:

  1. Open the game’s Nintendo eShop page. Verify the exact title and whether the page is for Switch, Switch 2, or both.
  2. Read the release-date field. Treat 2027 for Paper Perjury and 2028 for Shadow of Justice as windows until Nintendo publishes a day and month.
  3. Identify the delivery format. Look for a standard digital product, a physical-cartridge listing, or explicit “Cloud Version” wording.
  4. Inspect internet notices. Search the page for “internet required,” “internet connection required,” first-launch instructions, or authentication language.
  5. Review supported play modes and player count. A “single-player” mode is useful information, but it does not override a cloud or authentication requirement.
  6. Check Nintendo Switch Online details. Note whether the subscription is required, optional, or not mentioned for the features you plan to use.
  7. Compare the listing with Paper Cat Games’ release documentation. Look for launch notes that explain patches, account checks, save behavior, or regional restrictions.

Save a copy of the final support instructions or bookmark the official listing. Store text can change when a product moves from preorder to release, and a later patch can alter setup steps.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Physical editions and regional availability

Announcement coverage had not confirmed a US physical copy for Paper Perjury at the time reported. There is likewise no confirmed cartridge plan for Shadow of Justice. Do not treat a retailer placeholder, a third-party listing, or an imported box as proof that a cartridge exists or that it contains the complete game.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

If a cartridge is announced, check whether it is a full-game card or requires a download. A cartridge that launches a cloud client still needs connectivity, while a cartridge that contains the native game may only need internet for setup or updates. Regional editions can also have different release dates, language support, and account requirements.

Buying guidance while both releases are pending

  • Do not buy a Switch accessory or generic code expecting it to unlock either title. There is no current Switch product to redeem for offline play.
  • Do not assume a Steam purchase transfers to Nintendo hardware. The platforms and entitlements are separate unless the publisher explicitly announces a cross-buy arrangement.
  • Do not pre-plan a flight around an announced year. Wait for a dated Nintendo listing and complete the airplane-mode test after installation.
  • Choose hardware based on the confirmed platform. If the sequel remains Switch 2-only, an original Switch owner would need the newer console to run it.
  • Recheck the format close to launch. A game first announced generally for “Switch” can later be offered as a native title, a cloud edition, or separate versions for each generation.

The safest purchase decision is therefore deferred: wait until Nintendo and Paper Cat Games identify the edition, delivery method, and connection policy in writing. At that point, the listing—not the announcement year—will determine whether an offline session is realistic.

What remains unknown

Question Paper Perjury Shadow of Justice
Exact launch date Not stated beyond 2027 Not stated beyond 2028
Original Switch support Announced for Switch and Switch 2 Coverage describes Switch 2; final platform list not stated
Native download or cartridge Not stated Not stated
Cloud-version status Not stated Not stated
First-launch internet requirement Not stated Not stated
Recurring offline authentication Not stated Not stated
Nintendo Switch Online requirement Not stated Not stated
US physical edition Not confirmed in the reported announcement coverage Not stated

Until those cells are filled by an official Nintendo listing or Paper Cat Games documentation, any claim that either game definitely works offline would be speculation.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

cloud gamesNintendo SwitchNintendo Switch 2offline gamingPaper PerjuryShadow of Justice

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.