Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Best overall: Lenovo Chromebook Plus 14 OLED. It combines the strongest documented color coverage with a 14-inch 16:10 panel, substantial memory and storage options, and excellent independent battery results. Its OLED screen produces the deep blacks that make night scenes and letterboxed movies look convincing. Choose the Samsung Galaxy Chromebook Plus instead if a larger 15.6-inch screen matters more than documented color performance and portability.
Quick comparison
| Chromebook | Panel | Brightness and color evidence | Battery evidence | Best for | Important caveat |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lenovo Chromebook Plus 14 OLED | 14-inch, 1920×1200 OLED; optional touch; 16:10 aspect ratio | Lenovo claims 400 nits and 100% DCI-P3 (2025 specification). Tom’s Guide measured 355.6 nits average brightness and 84.1% DCI-P3 coverage in its 2025 testing. | Lenovo claims up to 17 hours; Tom’s Guide recorded 13 hours 19 minutes in its battery test. | Most buyers, color-conscious work, travel, and high-contrast movie watching | Glossy surface can reflect windows and lamps; regional configurations differ. |
| Samsung Galaxy Chromebook Plus | 15.6-inch Full HD (1920×1080) AMOLED; 16:9 aspect ratio | Samsung describes the panel as delivering true-to-life color, brilliance, and deep blacks. The cited product page does not publish measured brightness or gamut. | Samsung claims up to 13 hours. | Streaming on the largest available canvas and desktop-style multitasking | No comparable independent brightness or gamut figures are established in the cited evidence. |
Battery claims are manufacturer maximums, while the Lenovo result is a single independent test. Actual runtime varies with brightness, browser tabs, wireless use, video playback, and workload. Lenovo’s announced starting price was $649 in 2025; TechRadar listed a tested configuration at $749.99 in the United States, £699 in the United Kingdom, and AU$1,197 in Australia. The cited Samsung evidence does not state a price.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Why OLED improves dark scenes
OLED and AMOLED panels create light at each individual pixel. A pixel showing black can switch off rather than relying on a backlight that remains glowing behind the entire screen. In a dark movie frame, that means black bars, shadows, and empty space can appear genuinely black instead of gray.
The benefit is visible in several situations:
- Letterboxed films: black bars can disappear into the bezel in a dark room.
- Night cinematography: bright highlights stand out against unlit pixels, giving the image more apparent contrast.
- Dark interfaces: menus and editors with black backgrounds look less washed out.
- Mixed content: white subtitles remain bright while surrounding pixels stay dark.
OLED does not automatically guarantee accurate color. A panel can have excellent black rendering but an overly cool white point, oversaturated colors, reflections, or limited brightness. That is why this comparison separates black-level behavior from measured gamut, brightness, and practical room performance.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
What the available evidence can and cannot prove
The cited reviews directly praise the Lenovo panel’s contrast and black rendering. Tom’s Guide called its blacks “deep, inky blacks,” while TechRadar described the OLED display as “glorious” and among the best in its class. Samsung makes a similar deep-black claim for its AMOLED display, but the cited Samsung page does not provide independent measurements.
No cited source supplies black-level measurements in nits, HDR peak brightness, color-calibration Delta E, or PWM/flicker results for either model. Those missing measurements matter if you need laboratory-grade color work, HDR mastering, or unusually flicker-sensitive viewing. They should not be guessed from the OLED label.
Lenovo Chromebook Plus 14 OLED: the best-balanced choice
Display and dark-scene performance
Lenovo’s 14-inch panel uses a 1920×1200 resolution and a 16:10 shape. Compared with a conventional 16:9 Full HD screen, the extra vertical space is useful for documents, web pages, and timelines while remaining compact enough for travel. The OLED construction supplies the pixel-level black control that makes dark video look dense rather than gray.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Lenovo specifies 100% DCI-P3 coverage and 400 nits of brightness. Tom’s Guide’s independent measurements were lower for both figures: 84.1% DCI-P3 coverage and 355.6 nits average brightness. The difference does not invalidate the display, but it is important for buyers who rely on color-gamut numbers. Treat Lenovo’s figures as the specification for a stated configuration and Tom’s Guide’s figures as the result of one tested unit and method, not as interchangeable promises for every regional SKU.
Tom’s Guide characterized the panel as color accurate as well as high-contrast. That combination makes this the safest recommendation when you want OLED blacks without giving up documented color performance for photo selection, design previews, or video watching.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Brightness, reflections, and room lighting
The screen is glossy. Glossy coatings preserve the punchy appearance that makes OLED attractive, but they also mirror windows, ceiling lights, and your own clothing. TechRadar found the panel bright enough to reduce the worst reflections. In a dim room, the reflective surface is usually less distracting and the black-level advantage is easiest to see. In a sunlit room, place the display perpendicular to windows or move the light source behind the screen rather than directly in front of it.
Memory, storage, and battery headroom
Lenovo offers configurations with up to 16GB of memory and 256GB of storage. Those limits are more relevant to Chromebook longevity than the OLED badge: additional memory helps when you keep many browser tabs, Android apps, and Linux tools open, while 256GB gives more room for offline media and local files.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteLenovo’s stated battery maximum is up to 17 hours. Tom’s Guide recorded 13 hours and 19 minutes in its own test. Use the independent result as the more realistic planning figure, while remembering that streaming at high brightness or running Linux workloads can reduce runtime substantially.
Price and configuration checks
The announced starting price was $649 in 2025. A TechRadar review unit cost $749.99 in the United States, £699 in the United Kingdom, and AU$1,197 in Australia. Those figures refer to specific configurations and points in time, not a permanent worldwide price. Before ordering, confirm that the listing actually includes the OLED panel, because model families can contain multiple display options.
Samsung Galaxy Chromebook Plus: the large-screen alternative
AMOLED panel and viewing area
Samsung positions this model as “The only Chromebook Plus with AMOLED display” and describes the screen as delivering “true-to-life color, unbelievable brilliance and deep blacks.” The panel is 15.6 inches, Full HD at 1920×1080, and uses a 16:9 aspect ratio.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
The larger diagonal is useful when a Chromebook stays on a desk, when subtitles need to be readable from farther away, or when two windows share the screen. The 16:9 shape also matches most television and streaming video without as much vertical letterboxing as a 16:10 panel. The trade-off is a less useful document shape and a larger footprint than Lenovo’s 14-inch design.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteWhat is not documented
The cited Samsung product page does not state measured brightness, DCI-P3 coverage, color accuracy, black level, HDR peak output, or PWM behavior. Samsung’s visual claims support the expectation of strong contrast, but they are not a substitute for a laboratory measurement. Do not rank this model above Lenovo for color-critical work solely because both screens are OLED-family panels.
Battery and use case
Samsung claims up to 13 hours of battery life. As with Lenovo’s maximum, the result depends on workload and settings, and no independent test result is supplied here for a direct apples-to-apples comparison.
Choose the Samsung when the 15.6-inch canvas is the deciding factor: long movie sessions, larger subtitles, spreadsheet work with side-by-side windows, or a mostly stationary setup. Choose Lenovo when portability, documented gamut, and tested battery performance carry more weight.
Lenovo and Samsung side by side
| Decision factor | Lenovo Chromebook Plus 14 OLED | Samsung Galaxy Chromebook Plus |
|---|---|---|
| Black rendering | OLED; independent review reports deep, inky blacks. | AMOLED; Samsung claims deep blacks, with no independent black-level figure in the cited evidence. |
| Color documentation | Lenovo claims 100% DCI-P3; Tom’s Guide measured 84.1% and described color accuracy positively. | Samsung gives qualitative color claims; measured gamut is not stated. |
| Brightness documentation | 400-nit claim; 355.6-nit average in Tom’s Guide testing. | Not stated in the cited product evidence. |
| Resolution and shape | 1920×1200, 16:10, 14 inches. | 1920×1080, 16:9, 15.6 inches. |
| Touch | Optional, depending on configuration. | Not stated in the cited evidence. |
| Maximum memory and storage | Up to 16GB memory and 256GB storage. | Not stated in the cited evidence. |
| Battery claim or test | Up to 17 hours claimed; 13:19 independent test result. | Up to 13 hours claimed; no independent result supplied. |
| Screen-surface consideration | Glossy; reflections can matter in bright rooms. | Surface behavior is not stated in the cited evidence. |
| Price evidence | $649 starting announcement in 2025; tested configuration at $749.99, £699, and AU$1,197. | Not stated in the cited evidence. |
Which OLED Chromebook fits your room and workload?
For the most reliable all-round recommendation
Select the Lenovo. It has the clearest combination of independent display commentary, published color figures, a useful 16:10 workspace, expandable memory and storage choices, and an independently tested battery result. It is the strongest answer when “best OLED Chromebook” means more than the largest screen.
Recommended Free Tools
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
For a large streaming canvas
Select the Samsung if 15.6 inches is more important than portability or measured color evidence. Its 16:9 shape is naturally suited to widescreen video, and its AMOLED panel should provide the deep blacks associated with self-emissive displays. Keep expectations calibrated: Samsung’s cited page does not establish how bright or color-accurate a particular unit is.
For a dim or controlled room
Either model can show OLED’s advantage clearly because reflections are easier to control. Lenovo has direct review evidence for dark-scene quality, so it remains the lower-risk purchase when picture performance is the priority.
For a bright room
Check the exact configuration’s brightness and arrange the desk to avoid direct reflections. Lenovo has both a manufacturer brightness claim and an independent average measurement; Samsung’s cited evidence leaves that comparison open. Neither set of figures should be interpreted as an HDR peak-brightness rating.
For travel and mixed productivity
Lenovo’s smaller 14-inch chassis and 16:10 screen are the more practical fit. The taller aspect ratio reduces scrolling in documents and web applications without requiring the physical size of a 15.6-inch notebook.
How to buy without getting the wrong configuration
- Confirm the panel type in the full specification. Look specifically for OLED or AMOLED and the stated resolution. Do not assume every product bearing the same family name uses the same panel.
- Check the regional SKU. Compare memory, storage, touch availability, keyboard layout, included charger, warranty, and ChromeOS update policy for your country.
- Separate claims from tests. Record whether a number is a manufacturer maximum, a specification, or an independent measurement. Lenovo’s battery maximum and Tom’s Guide’s runtime are different kinds of evidence.
- Measure your viewing distance. A 15.6-inch screen can be easier for shared viewing, while a 14-inch model is simpler to carry and position.
- Inspect return terms for reflection and flicker sensitivity. Glossy OLED can look superb in a store or dark room but be distracting beside a window. Published PWM testing is not available in the cited evidence.
- Check current price and stock immediately before purchase. The Lenovo prices above are tied to a 2025 announcement and a specific review configuration; they are not a current universal price list.
Getting better dark-scene results after purchase
Control reflections first
Move lamps and windows out of the panel’s reflection path. A small change in desk angle often improves perceived black depth more than increasing brightness. Keep the room dim enough that your eyes do not force you to run the display at its maximum.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Use a comfortable brightness level
OLED black pixels remain unlit regardless of the brightness setting, but raising the overall level can make reflections more visible and shorten battery life. Start at a moderate setting and increase it only until subtitles and shadow detail are easy to see.
Keep video settings consistent
When comparing services or files, use the same brightness, browser zoom, viewing distance, and room lighting. Otherwise, you may mistake a change in the source or environment for a panel difference.
Do not infer HDR capability from OLED alone
OLED technology enables high contrast, but HDR support and peak brightness are separate specifications. The cited evidence does not establish HDR peak output for either Chromebook, so verify those details in the exact listing if HDR movies are a requirement.
Known limitations of this comparison
- No cited source reports black level in nits for either model.
- No cited source reports HDR peak brightness.
- No cited source reports color-calibration Delta E.
- No cited source reports PWM or flicker measurements.
- Samsung’s cited product page does not provide measured brightness or gamut.
- Prices and availability can change by country, configuration, and date.
These gaps do not erase the practical OLED advantage for dark scenes, but they define what can be stated confidently. Lenovo has the more thoroughly documented display performance; Samsung has the larger panel and strong manufacturer claims, with fewer published measurements.
Verdict
The Lenovo Chromebook Plus 14 OLED is the best OLED Chromebook for most readers seeking accurate dark scenes and deep blacks. Its independently praised contrast, useful 16:10 format, documented color options, tested battery result, and available 16GB/256GB configuration make it the most balanced choice. Buy the Samsung Galaxy Chromebook Plus when the larger 15.6-inch 16:9 screen is your overriding priority, and verify the exact regional configuration before paying.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

