Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan Now×
FREEDOM251

Freedom251 › Blog › Black Ops 7

Best Call of Duty Games With Full Co-Op Campaigns

By Freedom251 Team · · 10 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Call of Duty: Black Ops III is the clearest, officially documented choice for a complete campaign playable with friends: its campaign supports solo play or four-player co-op on PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC. Call of Duty: Black Ops 7 is the newer option, with an official page describing an “innovative Co-Op Campaign” built for squads or solo players. Do not confuse either with Modern Warfare’s Special Ops modes, which are cooperative missions separate from the complete cinematic campaign.

Quick verdict

Game Is the complete story campaign co-op? Maximum campaign party Officially identified platforms or restrictions Best for
Call of Duty: Black Ops III Yes. Activision says the campaign can be played solo or in four-player co-op. Four players PlayStation 4, Xbox One and PC. PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 versions do not include a co-op or single-player campaign mode. The safest, best-documented choice for a full co-op campaign.
Call of Duty: Black Ops 7 Yes, according to its official campaign page, which calls it an “innovative Co-Op Campaign.” Not stated in the supplied official description. Exact platform edition and current retail availability should be checked before purchase. Players who want a newer, squad-focused campaign.
Modern Warfare (2019) Special Ops No. It is a separate set of four-player co-op operations that continue the story after the campaign. Four-player operations Special Ops is not the full main campaign. Shorter cooperative operations rather than a complete campaign replay.
Modern Warfare 3 (2011) Special Ops No. It offers objective-based Special Ops missions and Survival Mode, not a co-op version of the main campaign. Not stated for the complete campaign, because there is no complete co-op campaign. Advertised as 16 objective-based Special Ops missions plus Survival Mode. Players specifically seeking standalone challenge missions.
Call of Duty: World at War Historical candidate, but not included in the definitive list here. Not verified by an authoritative source used for this guide. Exact implementation and current platform availability require confirmation. Worth investigating only after checking the specific edition and platform.

What “full co-op campaign” means

For this guide, a full co-op campaign means that the main story campaign itself can be completed cooperatively from its campaign missions, rather than offering a handful of side missions with a campaign-themed setting. The distinction matters because Call of Duty has used several names for cooperative content.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  • Full campaign co-op: the principal story campaign is designed to run with multiple players as well as solo.
  • Co-op operations: separate missions that may continue or expand the campaign’s story but do not let a group play the complete cinematic campaign.
  • Survival or challenge modes: repeatable combat scenarios with objectives or enemy waves, not the story campaign.
  • Historical claims: community descriptions are not enough to establish exactly how a particular release handles campaign co-op, especially across console generations and re-releases.

Using that definition leaves two strongly supported recommendations: Black Ops III and Black Ops 7. Special Ops belongs in a separate category, and World at War should be treated as unconfirmed until its exact release is documented.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Call of Duty: Black Ops III — the best-documented full co-op campaign

What Activision confirms

Activision’s 2015 launch announcement describes Black Ops III as having “an all-new campaign that can be played solo or in four-player co-op.” That statement directly answers the most important question: the main campaign, not merely an extra playlist, is playable cooperatively, and the supported party size is four.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

The same official information identifies the full campaign on PlayStation 4, Xbox One and PC. That platform qualification is essential because the older console editions are not equivalent.

The old-generation edition warning

Activision separately states that the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 versions “do not include a co-op or single-player campaign game mode.” Those editions are therefore unsuitable if your goal is any form of campaign play, whether alone or with friends. A listing that only says “Black Ops III” is not specific enough; check the platform printed in the listing, box, store page or download entry before paying.

  • Choose the PlayStation 4, Xbox One or PC release for the documented campaign.
  • Reject PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 copies when campaign co-op is the requirement.
  • Check that a used physical copy includes the correct platform disc; a similarly named older-generation version is not an interchangeable substitute.
  • Confirm that every player owns or can access the same supported edition before organizing a session.

Why it is the safest recommendation

Black Ops III has the clearest combination of evidence: an explicit statement that the complete campaign supports co-op, a stated four-player limit, and a named set of platforms. That makes it easier to shop for than games whose listings use broad phrases such as “multiplayer campaign,” “cooperative missions” or “squad experience” without explaining whether the main story is included.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

It is also the better answer when the group’s priority is certainty rather than recency. You can make the purchase decision from the documented campaign feature and platform restriction, without treating a separate Special Ops mode as a substitute.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Questions the official statement does not answer

The launch statement verifies campaign co-op and the four-player maximum, but it does not, by itself, establish every practical arrangement a group may want. It does not specify in the supplied material whether a particular console edition supports local split-screen for the campaign, which online account or subscription requirements apply today, or whether a specific store bundle contains the same campaign content. Check the platform’s current product page and the game’s in-game multiplayer requirements for those details.

Call of Duty: Black Ops 7 — the newer squad-based choice

What the official campaign page says

The official Black Ops 7 campaign page calls the feature an “innovative Co-Op Campaign” and says players can “squad up or go solo.” That is a direct indication that the story campaign is intended to support cooperative play, while still allowing a single-player run.

For readers choosing a newer release, this is the natural alternative to Black Ops III. Its wording emphasizes a squad-based campaign rather than presenting co-op as a minor side activity.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What to verify before buying

The supplied official description does not state a maximum campaign party size, a complete platform list, local split-screen behavior, online requirements or a guaranteed current retail edition. Those details can vary by platform and edition, so verify them on the exact store page you plan to use.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
  1. Open the listing for the specific console or PC edition, not a general franchise page.
  2. Look for the campaign feature to be named as co-op or cooperative campaign, rather than only “multiplayer,” “operations” or “modes.”
  3. Check whether the listing is a base game, a cross-generation bundle or an upgrade entitlement, and confirm that the campaign is included in the version you will install.
  4. Confirm the supported player count and whether your intended arrangement is online, local, or a mixture of both.
  5. Check current availability and any platform account or subscription requirement before inviting your group.

Who should choose Black Ops 7

Choose Black Ops 7 when your priority is a current squad-oriented campaign and you are willing to verify edition-specific details. Choose Black Ops III when you want the most explicit published evidence for a four-person complete campaign and a clearly identified platform set.

Why Modern Warfare Special Ops is not a full co-op campaign

Modern Warfare (2019)

Modern Warfare (2019) officially describes Special Ops as four-player co-op operations that pick up where the campaign concludes. That makes the mode meaningful for cooperative story content, but it does not turn the entire single-player campaign into a four-player campaign. The operations begin after the main campaign’s conclusion and are a separate activity.

When comparing games, label this accurately as four-player Special Ops or co-op operations. Calling it a full co-op campaign would promise that the group can replay the principal campaign together, which the description does not establish.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Modern Warfare 3 (2011)

Modern Warfare 3 advertises 16 objective-based Special Ops missions and Survival Mode. Those are substantial cooperative or replayable modes, but they are not the complete main campaign. A group seeking the story campaign should not buy it on the assumption that Special Ops provides a cooperative version of every campaign mission.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Why the distinction matters when planning a group game

  • A full campaign lets the group follow the principal story through its campaign progression.
  • Operations may use campaign characters or continue the story while remaining a separate mission set.
  • Survival adds replayable combat but does not provide campaign narrative coverage.
  • Store descriptions can place these features near one another, so read the mode name rather than relying on the word “co-op.”

World at War: a historical candidate, not a verified recommendation

Community search results frequently describe Call of Duty: World at War as having campaign co-op. However, the authoritative material used for this guide did not verify the exact campaign implementation or current platform availability through an Activision or platform source.

That does not prove every community claim is wrong; it means the claim is not strong enough for a definitive ranked recommendation. If you are considering World at War, verify all of the following for the particular copy or re-release:

  • Whether the main campaign, rather than a separate mode, is playable cooperatively.
  • The maximum number of campaign players.
  • Whether the feature exists on the platform and edition you intend to buy.
  • Whether local split-screen, online play or both are supported.
  • Whether the current store listing still includes the required campaign functionality.

Until those checks are documented, Black Ops III is the safer historical choice for a group that wants a complete campaign.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Comparison by the decisions that affect a purchase

Decision Black Ops III Black Ops 7 Special Ops examples
Complete main campaign playable together Officially confirmed. Officially described as a co-op campaign. Not confirmed; the modes are separate operations or Survival.
Documented party size Four-player campaign co-op. Not stated in the supplied official description. Modern Warfare (2019) documents four-player operations; this is not a full campaign count.
Platform certainty PS4, Xbox One and PC; PS3/Xbox 360 exclude campaign modes. Check the exact current edition and platform listing. Depends on the specific game and mode.
Local split-screen Not established by the cited launch statement. Not established by the supplied campaign description. Do not infer it from the existence of co-op operations.
Online requirements Not stated in the supplied evidence; check the platform and current service rules. Check the platform and edition listing. Check the particular Special Ops release.
Best use case A group that wants a documented four-player story campaign. A group seeking a newer squad campaign. A group that prefers standalone operations or Survival.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How to buy the right edition

For Black Ops III

  1. Start with the platform: PlayStation 4, Xbox One or PC.
  2. Read the edition details and confirm that the campaign is included.
  3. Do not select PlayStation 3 or Xbox 360 if campaign play is required; Activision says those versions include neither a co-op nor a single-player campaign mode.
  4. If buying used, match the disc or code to the console generation and region supported by your group.
  5. Have each participant verify installation and access before scheduling a long session.

For Black Ops 7

  1. Identify the exact platform and edition you need.
  2. Confirm that the store description names the co-op campaign, not merely multiplayer or operations.
  3. Check the listed campaign player count, local or online options, and any account requirements.
  4. Verify that the edition is currently sold and that the campaign has not been removed from a bundle or upgrade path.
  5. Coordinate the same edition or compatible entitlement across the group.

Local split-screen versus online play

“Co-op campaign” does not automatically mean “split-screen campaign.” A game can support cooperative story play through an online connection without allowing several people on one television, or it can support local play with platform-specific limits. The supplied official statements establish campaign co-op for Black Ops III and Black Ops 7, but they do not establish local split-screen behavior or current online service requirements.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Before purchase, decide which arrangement you actually need:

  • One console, one screen: find an explicit local or split-screen campaign statement for the exact edition.
  • Separate consoles or PCs: verify online support, account requirements and whether every player needs a copy or entitlement.
  • Mixed local and online group: confirm that the platform supports the intended combination; do not assume that a mode supporting four online players also supports four local players.

If a store page does not answer these questions, treat the feature as unverified rather than relying on an old forum post or a similarly named mode.

A simple decision tree

  1. Do you require the complete main story? If yes, choose between Black Ops III and Black Ops 7; exclude Special Ops-only options.
  2. Do you need a documented four-person limit? Black Ops III is the option with an explicit four-player campaign statement.
  3. Do you prefer a newer squad-focused experience? Investigate Black Ops 7, checking the exact edition and current availability.
  4. Are you considering an older-generation Black Ops III copy? Reject PS3 and Xbox 360 editions because they do not include a campaign mode.
  5. Would standalone missions be enough? Then Modern Warfare Special Ops may fit, but describe it as operations or Survival rather than a full campaign.
  6. Are you relying on a World at War listing? Verify the platform-specific campaign feature before treating it as a confirmed choice.

Bottom line for different groups

Best documented four-player campaign

Buy the PlayStation 4, Xbox One or PC version of Black Ops III. It is the only option in the supplied evidence with an explicit four-player complete-campaign statement and a clearly documented platform restriction.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Best newer campaign option

Choose Black Ops 7 if its current edition meets your platform, player-count and connection requirements. Its official campaign page explicitly presents cooperative squad play, but edition details still need checking.

Best if you only want cooperative missions

Modern Warfare Special Ops can be appropriate when your group wants separate operations or Survival. It should not be marketed or purchased as a complete co-op campaign.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Black Ops 7Black Ops IIICall of Dutyco-op campaignsGaming Guides

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.