Best Buy says nearly all of its U.S. stores will open at midnight ET on Thursday, November 5, 2026, so customers can pick up The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time for Nintendo Switch 2 when it becomes available. In western time zones, the opening falls on the evening of Wednesday, November 4. The Zelda 40th Anniversary Edition Switch 2 console is a separate product with its own earlier release date, October 29, 2026, and it does not include the game.
When Best Buy stores open
Best Buy’s October 8, 2026 announcement gives the opening times below. The wording is “nearly all” stores, not every store, and the corporate post does not list participating locations. Check the store locator before you travel.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Nintendo Switch 2 System | $499.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Nintendo Switch 2 System with Super Mario Galaxy + Super Mario Galaxy 2 Bundle | $568.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
Nintendo Switch 2 + Mario Kart World Bundle with Bonus HDMI Cable & Screen Cleaning Cloth | $617.98 | Buy on Amazon |
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
| Time zone | Opening time | Date |
|---|---|---|
| Eastern (ET) | Midnight | Thursday, November 5, 2026 |
| Central (CT) | 11 p.m. | Wednesday, November 4, 2026 |
| Mountain (MT) | 10 p.m. | Wednesday, November 4, 2026 |
| Pacific (PT) | 9 p.m. | Wednesday, November 4, 2026 |
| Alaska (AKT) | 8 p.m. | Wednesday, November 4, 2026 |
| Hawaii (HT) | 6 p.m. | Wednesday, November 4, 2026 |
Source: Best Buy Corporate News, October 8, 2026.
Preorders and store pickup
Best Buy says game preorders are available in stores, on its website, and in the Best Buy app. Customers who chose store pickup can collect their game during the late-night opening. Best Buy also says customers will receive an email offering the option to switch an order to store pickup.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
A preorder placed for shipping does not automatically become a midnight pickup. Confirm the following before you go:
#1 Best Overall
- The next evolution of Nintendo Switch
- One system, three play modes: TV, Tabletop, and Handheld
- Larger, vivid, 7.9” LCD touch screen with support for HDR and up to 120 fps
- Dock that supports 4K when connected to a compatible TV*
- GameChat** lets you voice chat, share your game screen, and connect via video chat as you play
- Your order status shows store pickup, and the pickup location is a participating store.
- You have the order confirmation or the switch-to-pickup email if you changed the delivery method.
- The store you plan to visit is one of the “nearly all” locations, confirmed through the store locator.
What stock to expect
Best Buy describes event inventory as limited. The company says it will have a limited number of copies of the game, the Zelda 40th Anniversary Edition Switch 2 console, and the Zelda 40th Anniversary Edition Switch 2 Pro Controller. The announcement does not give unit counts, per-customer limits, waitlist rules, or store-by-store allocations, and it does not guarantee that every location carries each product. Customers who arrive without a preorder should not assume they will be able to buy hardware at the opening.
Two release dates: the game and the console
The game and the anniversary console launch a week apart, and they are sold as separate products.
| Product | Release date | Price and contents |
|---|---|---|
| The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time for Nintendo Switch 2 (physical edition) | November 5, 2026 | Price not stated in the sources reviewed. Nintendo says the first print run has textured foil cover art while supplies last. |
| Nintendo Switch 2 – The Legend of Zelda 40th Anniversary Edition (console) | October 29, 2026 | $519.99 on Best Buy’s listing; Best Buy states “Game not included.” |
| Zelda 40th Anniversary Edition Switch 2 Pro Controller | Not stated in the sources reviewed | Available in limited quantities at the late-night opening, according to Best Buy. Not required to play. |
The console listing is at Best Buy’s product page. The game’s physical edition is listed on Nintendo’s product page. Prices and listings can change, so check them on the day you buy.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Rank #2
- The next evolution of the Nintendo Switch system
- One system, three play modes: TV, Tabletop, and Handheld
- Larger, vivid, 7.9” LCD touch screen with support for HDR and up to 120 fps
- Supports up to 4K resolution** when using a compatible game and TV connected via the included Nintendo Switch 2 dock
- Nintendo Switch 2 plays compatible physical and digital Nintendo Switch games.***
What the game includes
Nintendo’s September 2026 announcement describes a remake with several confirmed features:
- Overhauled visuals, fully voiced cutscenes, and expanded character dialogue.
- Symphonic orchestral music.
- Revised camera and movement controls, with faster loading and smoother performance.
- Music recognition: players can play or hum a learned ocarina melody within range of the Switch 2’s built-in microphone, and Link performs it in-game. Nintendo also says the game can respond to instruments.
- ZELDA NOTES, a game-specific service in the Nintendo Switch App for compatible smart devices, with progress tracking, image-based location hints, a virtual ocarina, a daily quiz, and additional features.
Source: Nintendo’s 40th anniversary announcement.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Optional accessories and later tie-ins
Nintendo has announced several products connected to the anniversary. None are required to play the game, and Best Buy has not promised any of them for the November event.
Rank #3
- 【Ultimate Nintendo Switch 2 Bundle – Ready to Play】Includes the complete Nintendo Switch 2 console and a full-game download of Mario Kart World, so you can start racing right out of the box. Perfect for gamers of all ages and playstyles.
- 【Next-Gen Hybrid Gaming with Stunning Visuals】Experience a vivid 7.9‑inch 1080p LCD touchscreen with HDR support, and enjoy 4K TV output at up to 60 fps when docked — for immersive gameplay at home or on the go.
- 【Versatile 3 Play Modes】Seamlessly switch between Handheld, Tabletop, and TV modes — all featuring intuitive controls and smooth performance, wherever you choose to play.
- 【Enhanced Social Gaming with GameChat & Multiplayer】Connect with friends locally, enjoy online multiplayer with up to 24 players, and use voice chat via GameChat (internet connection and Nintendo Switch Online membership required after trial period).
- 【Powerful Storage & Joy‑Con 2 Controllers】Includes 256 GB internal storage (expandable with microSD), magnetic Joy‑Con 2 controllers, docking station, HDMI cable, AC adapter, grip, and straps — everything you need for the ultimate gaming setup.
- Playable ocarina and HORI electric ocarina: announced for later in 2026.
- 1,750-piece LEGO The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time – Link & Epona display model: announced for spring 2027.
- Hasbro 27-inch Electronic Master Sword: announced for spring 2027, with more than 15 touch- and motion-activated sounds.
The LEGO and Hasbro figures are Nintendo’s announced specifications, not independent measurements.
Practical picks for launch week
- Want only the game: preorder the physical edition and confirm pickup, or buy it on or after November 5 at any retailer that carries it.
- Want the anniversary console: it releases October 29, a week before the game, and it is a separate purchase. Expect limited quantities at the late-night opening.
- Want the controller: it is an optional, limited-quantity item at the event and is not needed to play.
For the event itself, verify your store and order status early, since the November 4 evening openings in western time zones mean a long wait for some customers.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

