The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →For most buyers, choose the 2026 MacBook Air M5. It combines the strongest measured performance, a 13.6-inch high-resolution display, 15 hours 37 minutes in Tom’s Guide’s battery test, and a 2.7-pound design. Choose the Dell XPS 13 (2026) instead if you need Windows, while the MacBook Neo targets lower-cost macOS use, the Asus ROG Flow Z13 adds tablet and gaming flexibility, and the Framework Laptop 13 is the upgradeability specialist. “13-inch” is a portability class rather than an exact size: these models use displays from 13 to 13.6 inches.
Prices, stock and configurations change quickly in the US. Verify the exact memory, storage, operating system, warranty and retailer listing before ordering.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Quick verdict: which 13-inch laptop should you buy?
- Best overall: Apple MacBook Air M5 (2026) for buyers who can use macOS and want the best blend of speed, battery life, screen quality and low weight.
- Best Windows choice: Dell XPS 13 (2026) for Windows software, with a measured 14 hours 29 minutes of web-browsing battery life and a 2.2-pound chassis.
- Best budget macOS option: MacBook Neo, with an A18 Pro processor, 8GB memory and 256GB or 512GB storage. Confirm its current price and configuration because the guide does not state them.
- Best 13-inch 2-in-1 performance: Asus ROG Flow Z13, a tablet-style convertible for people who value touch, pen or detachable-keyboard flexibility over a conventional ultraportable design.
- Best upgradeable design: Framework Laptop 13, for owners who want to replace or expand components where the exact generation supports it.
These are different solutions rather than five versions of the same thin laptop. Operating-system compatibility, software requirements and the type of hardware you want to carry should decide the shortlist before small benchmark gaps do.
What “13-inch” means in this guide
Laptop size labels are approximate. The MacBook Air M5 has a 13.6-inch diagonal, the Dell XPS 13 has a 13.4-inch display, and the MacBook Neo is listed as 13-inch. The Asus ROG Flow Z13 and Framework Laptop 13 belong to the same portable class, but their convertible or modular designs can make them feel different in a bag. Check the manufacturer’s listed diagonal and chassis dimensions for the exact configuration you are buying.
#1 Best Overall
- Spacious Design: Measuring 21.1" wide and 14.1" deep, our lap desk comfortably fits most laptops up to 15.6". Extra room for accessories ensures convenience.
- Enhanced Functionality: Packed with handy features, including a 5x9" precision tracking mouse pad and a built-in phone slot for seamless work or video calls. Plus, enjoy ergonomic support with the integrated cushioned wrist rest.
- Cool Comfort: Enjoy a stable surface with our lap desk's dual bolster cushion, designed for comfort and airflow, keeping your lap cool during extended use.
- Durable Surface: Work with confidence on our lap desk's solid surface, featuring a sleek black carbon color, ensuring optimal air circulation to prevent your laptop from overheating.
- On-the-Go Convenience: With an integrated handle and lightweight design (2.8 lbs), our lap desk is portable for travel or moving around the house, offering flexibility in any space.
A smaller screen usually helps portability, but it also leaves less room for a full-size keyboard, sustained cooling hardware and a broad port selection. That is why a two-port machine, a detachable 2-in-1 or a modular laptop can be the right answer for one person and the wrong answer for another.
Five picks compared
The table separates published specifications from information that is not stated in the available product evidence. Battery figures are not interchangeable unless the test method is the same.
| Pick | Operating system | Display | Processor | Memory | Storage | Weight | Battery evidence | Best fit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MacBook Air M5 (2026) | macOS | 13.6-inch, 2560 × 1664 | Apple M5, 10-core | 16–32GB | 512GB–4TB | 2.7lb | 15h 37m in Tom’s Guide test | Best overall macOS ultraportable |
| Dell XPS 13 (2026) | Windows | 13.4-inch 2.5K touchscreen | Intel Core 5 320 | Up to 32GB | Not stated | 2.2lb | 14h 29m in Tom’s Guide web-browsing test; Dell advertises up to 17h streaming using a different method | Best Windows option |
| MacBook Neo | macOS | 13-inch | Apple A18 Pro | 8GB | 256GB–512GB | 2.7lb | Not stated | Lower-cost macOS entry point |
| Asus ROG Flow Z13 | Windows | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | High-performance 13-inch 2-in-1 |
| Framework Laptop 13 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Upgradeable laptop for long-term ownership |
Specifications and rankings for the five models come from Tom’s Guide’s 2026 13-inch laptop guide. “Not stated” means the cited evidence does not establish a comparable value; it is not a claim that the product lacks that feature.
1. MacBook Air M5 (2026): best overall
What you get
Tom’s Guide names the MacBook Air M5 its best 13-inch laptop overall. The tested configuration uses Apple’s 10-core M5 processor, 16GB to 32GB of memory, 512GB to 4TB of storage, a 13.6-inch 2560 × 1664 display and a 2.7-pound weight. In the same guide’s battery test, it ran for 15 hours 37 minutes. The review highlights speed, portability, display quality and battery endurance.
Its Geekbench 6 single-core result was 4,168 in that review. This is a source-specific benchmark, not a promise that every application will run at that speed; browser tabs, video exports, games and virtual machines can produce very different results.
Who should choose it
- Students, writers, developers and professionals whose required applications support macOS.
- Travelers who want a light machine with unusually long measured battery life.
- People who need more than entry-level memory or storage and can configure 16GB or more.
Trade-offs
The current model costs more than the previous generation, according to the review, while its improvement over the M4 is limited. The available evidence does not state a current US price, port count, webcam rating, warranty term or repairability details, so check those items on the exact listing. macOS also rules it out for Windows-only applications unless your workflow has a compatible alternative or approved virtualization setup.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Configuration advice
For light web, office and school work, 16GB memory and 512GB storage are a sensible starting point within the published range. Choose more storage if your photo, video or development files will live locally; storage cannot be treated as an afterthought because the listed range extends from 512GB to 4TB. Confirm whether the retailer’s advertised configuration matches the review’s memory and storage before comparing prices.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
2. Dell XPS 13 (2026): best Windows laptop
What you get
Tom’s Guide’s leading Windows pick is the 2026 Dell XPS 13. It pairs an Intel Core 5 320 processor with a 13.4-inch 2.5K touchscreen, supports up to 32GB of memory and weighs 2.2 pounds. Tom’s Guide measured 14 hours 29 minutes in its web-browsing battery test. Its Geekbench 6 single-core result was 2,684.
Dell’s US launch announcement lists a starting price of $699 for general buyers and $599 for eligible students during the back-to-school period; availability and those prices may have changed. Dell also claims up to 17 hours of streaming, but that is a different manufacturer-described method from Tom’s Guide’s web-browsing test. Dell describes the chassis as “At 12.7mm thin and only 1kg in weight (2.2lbs), XPS 13 is the thinnest, lightest XPS laptop ever made.” That statement is Dell’s claim, not an independent measurement. See the announcement at Dell’s US newsroom.
Ports and the headphone-jack issue
The XPS 13 has two USB-C ports and no headphone jack, according to the guide. If you regularly connect charging, an external display, wired audio or storage at the same time, count your required connections before buying. A compatible USB-C hub or adapter can add ports, but it also becomes another item to carry and another device whose compatibility you must verify.
Who should choose it
- Windows users who want a very light 13-inch computer and a touchscreen.
- People whose work depends on Windows applications, corporate management tools or peripherals unavailable on macOS.
- Students who qualify for Dell’s stated seasonal student price, after confirming eligibility and current availability.
Trade-offs
The review describes webcam quality as mediocre. The two-port layout and absent headphone jack are more consequential than a small benchmark difference for anyone with several wired accessories. Storage options, exact display configuration, warranty term and current street price vary by listing; verify each one instead of assuming that every XPS 13 matches the tested unit.
3. MacBook Neo: best budget macOS direction
What is established
Tom’s Guide places the MacBook Neo in the budget category. It has a 13-inch display, Apple A18 Pro processor, 8GB of memory, 256GB or 512GB storage and a 2.7-pound weight. Its Geekbench 6 single-core result in the guide was 3,535, below the MacBook Air M5’s 4,168 result but above the Dell XPS 13’s 2,684 result in that same test.
Rank #3
- Note: Not suitable for MacBooks released after 2023 or devices with a protruding front camera; Not applicable to full-screen or notch-style tempered glass screen protectors; Do not use on the rear camera of the phone.
- 💻 Why Do You Need a Webcam Cover Slide? — Safeguard your privacy by covering your webcam with our reliable webcam cover when not in use. Don't let anyone secretly watch you. Stay protected!
- ✅ Thin & Stylish — Enhance your laptop's functionality and aesthetics with our 0.027" ultra-thin webcam covers. Seamlessly close your laptop while adding a touch of sophistication.
- ✅ Fits Most Devices — Compatible with laptops, phones, tablets, desktops! Keep your privacy intact on Ap/ple, Mac/Book, iPh/one, iP/ad, H/P, L/novo, De/ll, Ac/er, As/us, Sa/msung devices.
- ✅ 365 Days Protection — Our upgraded 3.0 adhesive ensures a strong hold that won't damage your equipment. Experience reliable, long-term privacy protection day in and day out.
Who should choose it
It is aimed at buyers who want macOS portability without moving to the Air’s higher memory and storage configurations. The 13-inch size and 2.7-pound weight fit the same carry-anywhere category as the Air, while the 8GB memory ceiling listed in the guide makes the intended workload important.
Check the configuration before paying
The evidence does not state a current US price, battery result, display resolution, port selection, webcam quality or warranty details for the MacBook Neo. Storage is listed as either 256GB or 512GB; choose based on your local files rather than assuming cloud storage will cover every workflow. Eight gigabytes of memory may be adequate for basic browsing and office tasks, but buyers who routinely run heavy creative applications, many simultaneous containers or virtual machines should compare the Air’s 16GB–32GB range first.
Do not call the Neo “slow” or “fast” in the abstract. Its measured single-core score is a useful comparison inside Tom’s Guide’s test, but application support, memory pressure and storage capacity determine whether it feels suitable day to day.
4. Asus ROG Flow Z13: best 13-inch 2-in-1 performance category
Why it is different
The Asus ROG Flow Z13 is listed as a high-performance 13-inch 2-in-1 rather than a conventional clamshell ultraportable. Its tablet-oriented design is relevant if you want touch interaction, pen input or the ability to change between laptop and tablet modes. That flexibility can matter more than a lighter chassis when sketching, presenting or using a controller-friendly setup.
Performance evidence
Tom’s Guide recorded a Geekbench 6 single-core score of 2,896 for the ROG Flow Z13. The available guide does not state its processor model, memory, storage, display resolution, weight, battery result, port layout or price. Obtain those details for the exact generation and configuration before comparing it with the MacBook Air or XPS 13.
Who should choose it
- Users who specifically need a convertible or tablet mode.
- Buyers willing to accept a different keyboard, hinge and accessory experience for higher-performance hardware.
- People who will actually use touch or pen features; otherwise a traditional ultraportable is usually simpler to evaluate.
Questions to answer at checkout
- Does the package include the keyboard and any pen you need, or are they optional?
- What processor, memory and graphics configuration does the listing contain?
- What is the tested battery capacity and charger size for that configuration?
- How does the hinge behave in laptop, tent and tablet modes?
Without those answers, a model name alone is not enough to compare total cost or portability.
Rank #4
- Anti-Slip Surface - Transform your laptop into a mobile workstation with the AboveTEK portable laptop lap desk. The anti-slip surface provides a strong grip for laptops up to 15.6 inches(Diagonal), while the double rubber strip on the bottom ensures a stable display or typing experience on your lap, couch, or bed.
- Retractable Mouse Pad - Retractable laptop mouse pad extends on both directions for the left/right handed with elevation along the edges for stopping mouse from falling off. The size of laptop tray is 14" X 9.7" and the size of mouse pad is 7.4" X 6.1".
- Effective Heat Shield - The effective heat shield made of sturdy and thick material protects your laptop from overheating. Prioritizes your comfort and safety, an ideal lap pad or board for working anywhere.
- EASY to Carry and Store - With an ergonomic and simplistic design, the lap desk is portable to store in a backpack. Only 15" in size, 2.2 lb of weight and with slim 0.6 inch thickness, it is ready to be easily carried around.
- Widely Applicable - The smooth platform accommodates laptops and tablets up to 15.6 inches(Diagonal), making it a versatile accessory and one of the best gifts for mom, dad, students and professionals. Perfect for use as a laptop bed tray or tablet holder anywhere at home, library, or park.
5. Framework Laptop 13: best for upgradeability
Why modularity changes the buying decision
The Framework Laptop 13 is the upgradeability-oriented choice in Tom’s Guide’s list. The key question is not simply how much memory or storage it has on day one, but which components can be replaced or expanded in the exact generation you are purchasing. Confirm support for memory, storage, wireless hardware, ports and the display before assuming every part is user-replaceable.
Performance evidence and missing specifications
Tom’s Guide measured a Geekbench 6 single-core score of 2,362 for the Framework Laptop 13. The cited material does not state the tested processor, display, memory, storage, weight, battery life, port arrangement or current price. Framework configurations can differ substantially, so compare a complete bill of materials rather than the family name.
Who should choose it
- Owners who plan to keep a laptop through multiple upgrade cycles.
- Technically confident buyers who value access to replaceable parts over the thinnest possible design.
- People who can identify the exact generation and source compatible modules.
Calculate the long-term cost
Add the laptop, memory or storage upgrades you expect, any replacement parts, shipping and the time required to install them. Modularity has value only if you use it; if you never open the machine, compare its initial configuration and support terms directly with a sealed ultraportable.
Performance: what the available benchmark numbers do—and do not—say
Tom’s Guide’s Geekbench 6 single-core results provide one controlled comparison:
| Model | Geekbench 6 single-core result |
|---|---|
| MacBook Air M5 | 4,168 |
| MacBook Neo | 3,535 |
| Asus ROG Flow Z13 | 2,896 |
| Dell XPS 13 (2026) | 2,684 |
| Framework Laptop 13 | 2,362 |
These are results from the cited review, not population statistics and not a guarantee for every workload or configuration. Single-core testing does not describe sustained multicore rendering, graphics performance, game frame rates, battery under load or professional application compatibility. Use it as a tie-breaker after confirming your operating system and required software.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesBattery life: compare methods, not just numbers
The MacBook Air M5’s 15 hours 37 minutes and the XPS 13’s 14 hours 29 minutes come from Tom’s Guide’s comparison testing. They are useful as like-for-like editorial results, but they are not promised runtimes. Screen brightness, browser tabs, wireless signal, video calls and background software can change what you see.
Best Value
- Spacious Design: Measuring 21.1" wide and 12" deep, our lap desk comfortably fits most laptops up to 15.6". Extra room for accessories ensures convenience.
- Enhanced Functionality: Packed with handy features, including a 5x9" precision tracking mouse pad and a built-in phone slot for seamless work or video calls. Plus, enjoy laptop support with the integrated device ledge.
- Cool Comfort: Enjoy a stable surface with our lap desk's dual bolster cushion, designed for comfort and airflow, keeping your lap cool during extended use.
- Durable Surface: Work with confidence on our lap desk's solid surface, featuring a blush pink color, ensuring optimal air circulation to prevent your laptop from overheating.
- On-the-Go Convenience: With an integrated handle and lightweight design (2.14 lbs), our lap desk is portable for travel or moving around the house, offering flexibility in any space.
Dell separately advertises up to 17 hours of streaming for the XPS 13. Because that is a manufacturer claim using a different method, do not rank it directly against the 14-hour-29-minute web-browsing result. Dell’s buying guide explains its product claims at Dell’s US laptop buying guide.
Choose by operating system before comparing specifications
Pick macOS when
- Your required creative, development or office applications are available for macOS.
- You already use Apple services and accessories and value a consistent ecosystem.
- You prioritize the Air M5’s measured battery result and performance.
Pick Windows when
- Your employer, school or specialist software requires Windows.
- You need the XPS 13 touchscreen or the Flow Z13’s convertible format.
- You require hardware or management tools that are not supported on macOS.
Switching platforms can cost more in software, accessories and learning time than a modest difference in processor scores. Confirm compatibility first, then compare the exact configuration.
Configuration and price checklist
- Write down your workload. List required applications, typical browser-tab count, video or photo projects, coding tools and games.
- Set a memory floor. The Air is listed at 16GB–32GB, the Neo at 8GB and the XPS 13 up to 32GB. Match the number to your workload rather than selecting the cheapest listing.
- Estimate storage. The Air lists 512GB–4TB; the Neo lists 256GB–512GB. Add current files, project growth and an offline backup.
- Count ports. On the XPS 13, two USB-C ports and no headphone jack may require an adapter. Check the Flow Z13 and Framework configuration separately.
- Check the display diagonal and touch support. “13-inch” ranges from 13 to 13.6 inches here, and touch is specifically stated for the XPS 13.
- Confirm the exact generation. This matters most for the Flow Z13 and Framework Laptop 13, where the cited evidence does not establish a single universal configuration.
- Verify current price and warranty. Dell’s $699 starting price and $599 eligible-student price were announced for the US launch period; current listings may differ. Prices for the other picks are not established in the cited material.
Ports, adapters and accessories
Port convenience is a daily-use issue, not a minor specification. Before buying, list your monitor, charger, external drive, wired headset, camera, card reader and other peripherals. If they exceed the built-in ports, budget for a compatible hub and leave one port available for charging when possible. For the XPS 13, the guide specifically identifies two USB-C ports and no headphone jack, so wired-audio users should plan for an adapter.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Support, warranty and service questions to verify
The cited comparisons do not establish warranty lengths, accidental-damage coverage, international service, repair pricing or turnaround times for all five models. Read the seller’s terms for the exact serial-number family and country. For the Framework, also check parts availability and instructions for your generation; for a convertible, confirm how keyboard, pen and hinge components are covered.
How to avoid the most common buying mistakes
- Comparing different battery tests: label every number by method and source.
- Buying the name instead of the configuration: memory, storage, processor and included accessories can change the experience.
- Ignoring ports: a light laptop is less convenient if it forces a hub for every meeting.
- Assuming “13-inch” is exact: verify the diagonal, dimensions and weight.
- Choosing a 2-in-1 without a use case: pay for tablet and pen flexibility only if you will use it.
- Assuming upgradeability: confirm which components are replaceable in the exact Framework generation.
- Using an old price: Dell’s launch prices and seasonal student offer may no longer be available, and the other models’ current prices must be checked at purchase.
Final buying decision
Buy the MacBook Air M5 if macOS works for you and you want the strongest all-around 13-inch package documented here. Buy the Dell XPS 13 if Windows compatibility, a touchscreen and a 2.2-pound design matter more than its two-port limitation. Consider the MacBook Neo for basic macOS needs at a lower tier, but verify its current configuration. Choose the ROG Flow Z13 only when 2-in-1 flexibility is central to your work, and choose the Framework Laptop 13 when you will genuinely use its upgrade path. In every case, compare the exact memory, storage, accessories, warranty and test method—not just the product name.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

