Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix NowHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
FREEDOM251

Freedom251 › Blog › 1500 Series BBQ

Beefeater 1500 Series Four-Burner BBQ Review: BDB1540GA Built-In vs BDM1540GA Cart Model

By Freedom251 Team · · 11 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The cart-and-side-burner barbecue in this search phrase is not model BDB1540GA. Beefeater Australia identifies BDB1540GA as the built-in 1500 Series four-burner BBQ. The matching freestanding unit with a trolley and side burner is BDM1540GA. Both Australian listings are marked discontinued, so neither model should be treated as a currently supported, readily available product without verifying a specific seller, serial number and parts supply.

This review separates the two models, explains what their published specifications do and do not establish, and gives you a practical checklist for identifying a remaining unit or evaluating one second-hand.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

First, identify the model correctly

The wording “BDB1540GA 1500 Series 4 Burner on Cart with Side Burner” combines two different configurations. BDB1540GA is the built-in model in Beefeater Australia’s catalogue. It is designed to be installed into a benchtop or outdoor-kitchen enclosure and has no trolley or side burner listed on its Australian product page.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

BDM1540GA is the freestanding model that matches the cart description. Beefeater describes it as a four-burner 1500 Series built-in BBQ supplied with a side burner and trolley, while classifying the complete product as free standing. If a listing calls a barbecue “BDB1540GA on a cart”, ask the seller for a photograph of the rating plate and the complete model code before paying. A listing title alone is not reliable evidence of the configuration.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

This distinction matters for more than naming. The two products have different footprints, installation requirements and published dimensions. The side-burner output belongs to BDM1540GA; it must not be added to BDB1540GA’s specifications. Conversely, the built-in model’s finish and roll-away features should not automatically be assumed to be included on the trolley model.

Published specifications at a glance

Specification BDB1540GA built-in BDM1540GA freestanding How to interpret it
Configuration Built-in four-burner BBQ Freestanding four-burner BBQ with trolley and side burner The BDM code is the relevant one for a cart-mounted unit.
Main burners Four cast-iron burners, 15 MJ/hr each; 60 MJ/hr total Four 15 MJ/hr main burners; 60 MJ/hr total These are manufacturer-listed gas-input ratings, not an independent cooking-performance score.
Side burner Not listed One 15 MJ/hr side burner on the Australian listing Do not assume the built-in BDB has a side burner.
Fuel and setup Gas, LPG setup Gas, LPG setup The published pages do not establish natural-gas compatibility or a conversion kit.
Ignition Quartz-start ignition Quartz-start ignition Beefeater describes this as a one-press start; that is a product claim, not a durability test.
Cooking surfaces Cast-iron grill and hotplate Cast-iron cooking surfaces Exact split between grill and hotplate for BDM is not stated on the Australian page.
Cooking area Not stated on the manufacturer page 3,840 cm² on the European listing; CHOICE lists 0.37 m² for the titled product Regional listings and measurement conventions may differ.
Closed dimensions 804 W × 584 D × 574 H mm 1,672 W × 639 D × 1,152 H mm Manufacturer dimensions; allow clearance for the lid and service access.
Open height 968 mm 1,545 mm Both figures are supplied with the manufacturer’s dimensions.
Weight Not stated 77 kg on the European listing The 77 kg figure is regional and should not be treated as an Australian-certified shipping weight.
Warranty Australian term not stated on the product page Australian term not stated on the product page CHOICE publishes an Australian component breakdown; the European page gives a different regional term.
Availability Australian listing marked discontinued Australian listing marked discontinued Discontinued status does not prove that every retailer has sold its last unit.

What BDB1540GA actually offers

BDB1540GA is the compact built-in appliance. Beefeater lists four cast-iron burners rated at 15 MJ/hr each, for 60 MJ/hr across the main burners. It uses LPG setup and quartz-start ignition. The cooking system is a cast-iron grill and hotplate, giving you two types of surface in the built-in body rather than a trolley-mounted side station.

The manufacturer lists a double-layer roasting hood with an integrated temperature gauge. It also describes a fully welded porcelain-enamel finish and 304-grade stainless steel. Those material and construction statements are manufacturer specifications; they do not constitute an independent corrosion, heat-retention or longevity test.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Several convenience features are listed for this model: a roll-away warming tray, a drip tray and a roll-away hood. Because those features appear on the BDB product information, verify their presence if you are looking at a used unit whose hood, tray or grease-management parts may have been replaced.

With the lid closed, the listed body is 804 mm wide, 584 mm deep and 574 mm high. The stated open height is 968 mm. These dimensions describe the BBQ itself, not the complete cabinetry opening. A fabricator still needs the installation drawing, ventilation requirements and clearances applicable to the exact production version. Do not cut a benchtop from the outside dimensions alone.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

What changes with the BDM1540GA cart model

BDM1540GA retains four 15 MJ/hr main burners, giving the same 60 MJ/hr main-burner total listed for BDB1540GA, but adds a 15 MJ/hr side burner. The Australian page identifies LPG setup, quartz-start ignition and cast-iron cooking surfaces. The side burner is the feature that makes this model suitable for simmering a saucepan, warming a sauce or finishing food without taking a pan onto the main grill.

The trolley changes the installation problem completely. Beefeater lists the freestanding unit at 1,672 mm wide, 639 mm deep and 1,152 mm high with the lid closed; the stated open height is 1,545 mm. Measure the full width, including the side-burner shelf, rather than measuring only the central firebox. Check doorways, gates, lift dimensions and the final position before arranging delivery: a 77 kg weight is listed by Beefeater’s European page, and the assembly is awkward to manoeuvre even where a path is technically wide enough.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The European listing also gives a 3,840 cm² cooking area and a 4.2 kW side-burner rating. CHOICE’s listing for the titled product gives 0.37 m² of cooking area. Those figures are broadly similar in scale but come from different regional pages and may use different measurement conventions. Use the specification from the market in which you will operate when checking gas installation, replacement parts or warranty coverage.

Cooking capability: what the numbers mean

Burner output

A 15 MJ/hr rating describes the gas input assigned to one burner. Four such burners provide the published 60 MJ/hr main-burner total. It does not tell you how evenly heat is distributed, how quickly the grate recovers after food is added or how much gas the barbecue consumes during a real cook. Those questions require controlled testing, and the accessible product information does not provide those results.

Cast-iron cooking surfaces

Cast iron can provide substantial thermal mass and strong searing contact, but it needs correct cleaning and drying to limit rust. The published material confirms cast-iron grill and hotplate surfaces for BDB1540GA and cast-iron cooking surfaces for BDM1540GA. It does not specify the exact grate-to-hotplate ratio for BDM1540GA, so ask for a clear parts diagram or inspect the actual plates before assuming you can replace one section with a full hotplate.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Hood and indirect cooking

BDB1540GA is listed with a double-layer roasting hood and integrated temperature gauge. That makes the hood relevant to roasting and indirect cooking, but a gauge reading is only useful when you understand where its sensor sits relative to the food. No independent test establishes temperature accuracy for this model. Treat the dial as a guide and verify critical cooks with your own probe thermometer.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Side-burner use

Only BDM1540GA is listed with the 15 MJ/hr side burner in the Australian specifications. Keep pans stable, leave the burner area clear of towels and packaging, and follow the model’s gas and clearance instructions. Do not retrofit a side burner to BDB1540GA based on a photograph of the trolley model; the gas manifold, mounting and certification may differ.

Installation and identification checklist

Use this sequence when inspecting a listing, an unboxed appliance or a second-hand barbecue.

  1. Read the rating plate. Confirm whether it says BDB1540GA or BDM1540GA. A seller’s headline, carton sticker or search result can contain the wrong code.
  2. Match the physical configuration. BDB1540GA should be treated as the built-in body. A trolley, side shelf and side burner indicate the BDM configuration, subject to confirmation from the plate.
  3. Confirm the gas setup. Both Australian pages specify LPG setup. Do not connect a different gas supply or order a conversion part unless Beefeater or a qualified gasfitter confirms compatibility for that exact model and region.
  4. Measure the route and final position. For BDM1540GA, account for the 1,672 mm listed width and the side-burner shelf. For BDB1540GA, measure the planned enclosure rather than assuming the 804 mm appliance width is a complete cut-out specification.
  5. Check lid clearance. The open heights are 968 mm for BDB1540GA and 1,545 mm for BDM1540GA. Include overhead structures, lights and combustible materials in the clearance assessment.
  6. Inspect supplied components. Look for the cast-iron cooking pieces, hood, warming tray where applicable, drip-tray components and ignition parts. Missing pieces can be difficult to source for a discontinued model.
  7. Record serial and model details. Photograph the rating plate, manifold, ignition module and any part labels before purchase. These records make a warranty or parts enquiry possible later.
  8. Use a qualified installer where required. LPG connections, ventilation and outdoor-kitchen construction must follow the rules in your jurisdiction. The product pages do not replace local gas or building requirements.

What independent evidence is—and is not—available

CHOICE has a listing for the four-burner barbecue using the BDB1540GA wording and describes the product with a cast-iron grill/hotplate, stainless-steel flame diffusers and quartz-start ignition. Its listing gives a 0.37 m² cooking area, dimensions of 114 × 167 × 67 cm, a five-year warranty for the firebox and two years for everything else, and an historical listed price of A$1,799. The page does not state the year for that price, so it is not a current-price guide.

CHOICE’s detailed entries for low-temperature performance, heat recovery, cleaning, external temperatures, gas consumption, reliability and owner satisfaction are restricted to members. Without those results, it would be misleading to assign a CHOICE performance score, claim that the BBQ heats evenly, or describe its gas consumption as high or low. The public listing confirms that the product was catalogued and tested within CHOICE’s appliance programme; it does not disclose the underlying results.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Fiona Mair is identified by CHOICE as a tester and comparison specialist whose work includes barbecues. No accessible named-person quotation supplies a verdict on this model. Accordingly, the most defensible review conclusion is specification-based: the products have clearly stated burner and construction features, while comparative performance and reliability remain unverified from the public material.

Discontinued status and what that means for buyers

Beefeater Australia marks both BDB1540GA and BDM1540GA as discontinued, and CHOICE also marks its titled listing discontinued. Discontinued does not mean an existing appliance is unusable. It does mean you should treat availability, warranty support and replacement components as questions to verify rather than assumptions.

If you find new old stock

  • Ask for the exact model and serial number, not just “1500 Series”.
  • Confirm that all burners, grates, hotplates, hood parts, warming components and drip-tray pieces are included.
  • Obtain the seller’s written warranty terms and find out whether the warranty transfers to a second owner.
  • Check the manufacture or purchase date because an old unit may have spent years in storage.
  • Inspect hoses, regulators, seals and ignition batteries or modules before first use.

If you buy second-hand

  • Look for corrosion around the firebox, burner ports, manifold and grease tray.
  • Verify that each burner lights and that the flame is stable across its ports.
  • Check that cast-iron pieces sit flat and that replacement plates do not obstruct burner openings.
  • Operate the hood, warming tray and trolley doors or shelves before transporting the unit.
  • Budget for service parts that may no longer be stocked and never assume a generic component is certified for the appliance.

No current retailer stock was established by the published listings. A seller may still possess inventory, but you should verify stock directly and avoid paying a current-market premium based solely on the old A$1,799 CHOICE figure.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Warranty: do not mix regional terms

CHOICE publishes an Australian warranty breakdown of five years for the firebox and two years for everything else. Beefeater’s European listing states a five-year warranty, but that is a regional listing and should not be substituted for Australian terms. The Australian manufacturer pages do not state a complete warranty schedule in the available product information.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Before relying on any warranty, ask which entity issued it, whether the model was sold through an authorised channel, what parts and labour are covered, and whether discontinued status affects claims. Keep the invoice, model plate photograph and installation documentation. A European five-year statement is not proof that an Australian purchase receives identical coverage.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Accessories, covers and replacement parts

Beefeater lists a cover among accessories associated with BDB1540GA. Its parts store lists a four-burner rack but warns that customers may need to consult the manual or manufacturer to confirm compatibility. That warning is important for a discontinued range: a rack that fits the BDB firebox may not fit the BDM trolley model, even if both have four burners.

Match every order to the model code and, where available, the original part number. For a BDM1540GA, verify the side-burner assembly, shelf and trolley components separately. Do not infer fit from burner count, dimensions or a photograph. If the seller cannot provide a part number, request the manual or a compatibility confirmation before ordering.

Which configuration is the better fit?

Your situation More suitable configuration Reason Critical caution
You are building a fixed outdoor kitchen BDB1540GA It is the manufacturer-identified built-in body and has the compact 804 mm × 584 mm × 574 mm closed dimensions. Use the installation documentation and required clearances; do not cut cabinetry from appliance dimensions alone.
You need a movable appliance with a side cooking station BDM1540GA It is the trolley configuration and includes the 15 MJ/hr side burner listed for Australia. Measure the 1,672 mm width and the route to the final position.
You want the smallest footprint BDB1540GA, only if a suitable enclosure already exists The built-in body is substantially narrower than the complete trolley configuration. It is not a portable cart barbecue; installing it requires an appropriate structure.
You need confidently available replacement parts Neither can be assumed Both Australian listings are discontinued. Check parts and service support before purchase.
You are comparing warranty promises Neither without local documentation Australian and European warranty statements differ. Obtain written terms for the exact market and seller.

Bottom-line assessment

BDB1540GA is a built-in four-burner LPG BBQ with four 15 MJ/hr cast-iron burners, cast-iron grill and hotplate, quartz-start ignition and a hood-oriented feature set. It is not the cart-and-side-burner model described by the search phrase. BDM1540GA is the freestanding alternative, adding a trolley and a 15 MJ/hr side burner while using its own larger dimensions and regional specifications.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Both are discontinued in the Australian listings, and the public CHOICE page does not reveal the performance, cleaning, gas-consumption or reliability scores needed for a conventional test verdict. If you locate one, buy only after confirming the model plate, LPG setup, completeness, dimensions, local warranty and parts path. That verification is more important than the historical A$1,799 price or an incorrectly labelled listing.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

1500 Series BBQbarbecue buying guideBDB1540GABDM1540GABeefeaterLPG BBQ

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.