What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
There is no universal winner. Axis Bank is often the cleaner fit when you want a clearly stated monthly-average-balance (MAB) requirement, unlimited digital NEFT/RTGS on the Normal and Select accounts, or a specific cash-deposit formula. HDFC Bank is often stronger when your business needs a quarterly balance test, professional-account pricing, or cash limits linked to average monthly balance (AMB).
For a cash-light sole proprietor, start with Axis Normal or Liberty Digital and HDFC Professionals. For a retailer with larger or uneven cash receipts, compare Axis Select with HDFC Activ or Ascent. The right choice depends on your legal form, branch location, average balance, cash volume, and need for digital collections—not on the bank name alone.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Quick comparison of the main accounts
| Account | Balance requirement | Cash-deposit allowance | Published maintenance charge | Best suited to |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Axis Normal Current Account | ₹15,000 MAB in metro/urban branches; ₹7,500 in semi-urban/rural branches | ₹2 lakh per month | Not stated in the cited product information | Retailers and small businesses with predictable, modest cash deposits |
| Axis Liberty Digital Current Account | ₹10,000 MAB in metro/urban locations; ₹5,000 in semi-urban/rural locations; an alternative non-cash-credit condition is also shown on the product page | Not stated in the cited product information | Not stated | Sole proprietorships that prefer a lower balance threshold and digital onboarding |
| Axis Select Current Account | ₹50,000 MAB | Up to 10 times MAB, capped at ₹50 lakh | Not stated | Registered small businesses and other entities with larger cash flows |
| HDFC Current Account for Professionals | ₹10,000 AQB | Free combined deposits up to ₹10 lakh or 25 transactions, whichever is reached first | ₹1,500 per quarter for non-maintenance; excess cash deposit ₹4 per ₹1,000, minimum ₹50 per transaction | Professionals and smaller firms with moderate cash activity |
| HDFC Activ Current Account | ₹10,000 AQB | Deposits and withdrawals up to 10 times current-month AMB, capped at ₹50 crore | ₹3,000 per quarter for non-maintenance; excess cash-deposit pricing is ₹4 per ₹1,000, minimum ₹50 | Retail and merchant businesses with variable cash flows |
| HDFC Ascent Current Account | ₹50,000 AQB in metro/urban locations; ₹25,000 in semi-urban/rural locations | Up to 10 times current-month AMB, capped at ₹50 crore | ₹3,000 per quarter for non-maintenance; excess cash-deposit pricing is ₹4 per ₹1,000, minimum ₹50 | Businesses able to maintain a higher balance and needing substantial cash capacity |
| HDFC EZEE Current Account | Product page uses an AMB-based structure; confirm the applicable scheme code | Higher of ₹4 lakh and six times current-month AMB, or 25 transactions; capped at ₹50 lakh | Excess cash deposit ₹4 per ₹1,000, minimum ₹50; other charges depend on the scheme | Businesses seeking a defined cash allowance with a ₹50 lakh ceiling |
Figures for HDFC fee pages above are stated as effective June 1, 2026. Product names, thresholds, caps and charges can change, so ask the branch for the current schedule of charges and the exact scheme code before opening the account.
Recommended Free Tools
How Axis Bank measures the balance
Monthly average balance (MAB)
Axis Bank’s cited products use MAB. The bank averages the balance over a month rather than checking only the closing balance on one day. A business can therefore have daily fluctuations, but the average for the month must meet the published threshold. A ₹15,000 MAB requirement is not the same test as a ₹15,000 balance maintained continuously.
#1 Best Overall
Axis Normal: the straightforward small-business option
Axis Normal lists a ₹15,000 MAB in metro and urban branches and ₹7,500 in semi-urban and rural branches. It lists a ₹2 lakh monthly cash-deposit limit and unlimited digital NEFT/RTGS. The product is positioned for retailers and small businesses, and its page states unlimited cash withdrawal at the home branch.
This combination is useful when cash deposits are material but comfortably below ₹2 lakh per month and the business makes frequent electronic payments. The published information does not establish Axis Normal’s excess-cash fee, non-maintenance charge or non-home-branch withdrawal pricing, so obtain those figures from the current schedule rather than assuming they match another Axis account.
Axis Liberty Digital: lower threshold for sole proprietorships
Liberty Digital is described as a sole-proprietorship current account. Its listed MAB is ₹10,000 in metro and urban locations and ₹5,000 in semi-urban and rural locations. The product page also shows an alternative non-cash-credit condition. Because the cited information does not state the amount or operating details of that alternative, ask the bank to explain exactly how eligibility is tested before relying on it.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsLiberty Digital is worth comparing with HDFC Professionals when the owner runs a digitally operated sole proprietorship and wants a lower balance threshold than Axis Normal in the same geography. Its cash-deposit allowance and excess-cash pricing are not established in the supplied product details, so it cannot be ranked on cash economics without the applicable fee schedule.
Axis Select: formula-based capacity for larger cash flows
Axis Select lists a ₹50,000 MAB and permits cash deposits up to 10 times MAB, subject to a ₹50 lakh cap. At the listed MAB, the formula would produce ₹5 lakh of capacity; a higher average balance can increase the allowance until the ₹50 lakh ceiling is reached. The product also advertises unlimited digital NEFT/RTGS.
Axis distinguishes individuals and sole-proprietorship entities from other entity types on the Select information. Confirm that the proposed legal form—partnership, private company, trust or another structure—is eligible under the precise scheme code you are offered. The cited material does not state Select’s non-maintenance or excess-cash charges.
How HDFC Bank measures the balance
Average quarterly balance (AQB)
HDFC’s cited account pages commonly use AQB. The bank measures the average over a quarter, not a single month. Comparing a ₹10,000 HDFC AQB directly with a ₹10,000 Axis MAB can mislead: the rupee figures look identical, but the measurement periods differ. Ask whether the quarter is a calendar quarter or the bank’s defined account quarter and how a newly opened account is treated.
HDFC Professionals: predictable allowance for moderate cash use
The Professionals account lists a ₹10,000 AQB and a ₹1,500 quarterly non-maintenance charge. Free combined cash deposits are limited to ₹10 lakh or 25 transactions, whichever limit is breached first. The excess charge is ₹4 per ₹1,000, with a ₹50 minimum per transaction.
Rank #2
“Combined” matters: the rupee and transaction tests apply together to the account’s stated cash-deposit facility, rather than giving you ₹10 lakh plus 25 additional transactions. A professional who deposits ₹10 lakh in a few visits can hit the rupee threshold; another who makes 25 smaller deposits can hit the transaction threshold first. Model both patterns using your actual deposit calendar.
HDFC Activ: merchant account with AMB-linked cash capacity
Activ is aimed at retail businesses and merchants. It lists a ₹10,000 AQB and a ₹3,000 quarterly non-maintenance charge. Cash deposits and withdrawals are allowed up to 10 times the current-month AMB, with a ₹50 crore upper cap. The cited fee information gives the same ₹4 per ₹1,000 excess cash-deposit charge and ₹50 minimum per transaction described for other HDFC products.
Because the allowance follows current-month AMB, a month with a lower average balance can reduce the free cash capacity even if the previous month was strong. A business with seasonal receipts should calculate the allowance month by month and retain a buffer below the formula limit.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →HDFC Ascent: higher balance, very high stated ceiling
Ascent lists an AQB of ₹50,000 in metro and urban locations and ₹25,000 in semi-urban and rural locations. It charges ₹3,000 per quarter when the AQB is not maintained. Cash deposits can be up to 10 times current-month AMB, with a stated ₹50 crore cap. Excess cash deposits are priced at ₹4 per ₹1,000, subject to a ₹50 minimum per transaction.
The ₹50 crore ceiling is a product cap, not a promise that every account will receive that allowance automatically. The actual free amount remains tied to the current-month AMB and to the bank’s operating rules. For a smaller business, the practical comparison is usually the required AQB and the fee for your expected cash volume, not the headline ceiling.
HDFC EZEE: a different cash formula
EZEE uses a cash-deposit allowance based on the higher of ₹4 lakh and six times current-month AMB, or 25 transactions, capped at ₹50 lakh. Excess cash deposits cost ₹4 per ₹1,000, with a ₹50 minimum per transaction. This is materially different from Professionals’ ₹10 lakh-or-25-transaction test and from the 10-times-AMB formulas on Activ and Ascent.
Before comparing EZEE with another HDFC account, obtain the current AQB or AMB requirement, non-maintenance charge and eligibility for your business form. The catalogue-level description does not replace the scheme-specific fee page.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Cash-deposit economics: compare the formula, not just the cap
| Pattern | Axis account to examine | HDFC account to examine | What to calculate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Up to ₹2 lakh in deposits per month | Normal: fixed ₹2 lakh monthly limit | Professionals: ₹10 lakh or 25 transactions | Whether you value the lower Axis MAB in your location or HDFC’s larger stated rupee allowance |
| Cash rises and falls with sales | Select: 10 times MAB, capped at ₹50 lakh | Activ or Ascent: 10 times current-month AMB, capped at ₹50 crore | The lowest expected monthly average balance and the month in which cash receipts peak |
| Many small deposits | Check the applicable Axis transaction rules | Professionals or EZEE may trigger a transaction limit before the rupee limit | Number of deposits, not only total rupees |
| Cash withdrawals as well as deposits | Normal explicitly states unlimited home-branch cash withdrawal | Activ states cash deposits and withdrawals up to 10 times current-month AMB | Home versus non-home branch rules and whether withdrawals consume the same allowance |
For illustration, a ₹50,000 MAB on Axis Select produces a formula amount of ₹5 lakh before the ₹50 lakh cap. On an HDFC 10-times-AMB product, a ₹50,000 current-month AMB also produces ₹5 lakh for that month. The balances look similar, but one is averaged monthly and the other is tied to the current month’s AMB under HDFC’s rules. Do not treat the two tests as interchangeable.
Rank #3
HDFC’s published excess price of ₹4 per ₹1,000 equals 0.4% of the excess amount, but the ₹50 minimum can make small breaches expensive. For example, a nominally small excess deposit can still incur at least ₹50 for that transaction. Axis excess-cash pricing is not stated in the supplied product details; request it in writing.
Digital payments, collections and everyday operations
Axis digital transfers
Axis Normal and Select advertise unlimited digital NEFT and RTGS. That is relevant to suppliers, payroll, tax payments and customer refunds made electronically. Axis also promotes digital account opening and multiple current-account tiers in its catalogue. Confirm transaction channels, cut-off times, beneficiary limits and any separate cash or instrument charges in the account’s schedule.
HDFC digital and collection tools
HDFC’s current-account catalogue describes fund transfers, dynamic limits, digital collections and digital payments across its range. The catalogue is broad rather than scheme-specific: a particular account may have channel, transaction or onboarding conditions that differ from another HDFC account. Ask whether your quotation includes payment links, collection accounts, bulk transfers, mobile banking, net banking and bill-pay functionality, and whether each feature has a separate fee.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchPC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Merchant and collection fit
A shop receiving card, QR or online payments may keep cash deposits low even when sales are high. In that case, a lower balance requirement and reliable digital collections can matter more than the largest cash cap. A cash-heavy wholesaler should instead model deposit frequency, branch cut-off times and the cost of exceeding the free allowance.
Eligibility, geography and branch access
Legal form
- Axis Liberty Digital is identified as a sole-proprietorship product.
- Axis Select distinguishes individuals and sole-proprietorship entities from other entity types; confirm eligibility for partnerships, companies and other organisations.
- HDFC Professionals is designed around professional users, while Activ is positioned toward retail businesses and merchants.
- HDFC’s catalogue covers micro, small, medium and large organisations, but the exact account and documentation depend on the scheme code.
Do not choose an account solely from a public product name. Give the bank your exact legal form and ownership structure and request the eligible scheme code, balance rule and fee schedule for that code.
Metro, urban, semi-urban and rural pricing
Location changes the threshold on several products. Axis Normal falls from ₹15,000 MAB in metro/urban branches to ₹7,500 in semi-urban/rural branches. Liberty Digital falls from ₹10,000 to ₹5,000. HDFC Ascent lists ₹50,000 AQB in metro/urban areas and ₹25,000 in semi-urban/rural areas. The branch classification used for your account should be confirmed at opening; do not infer it from the city’s general reputation.
Home and non-home cash withdrawals
Axis Normal’s page states unlimited cash withdrawal at the home branch. The supplied information does not establish equivalent non-home withdrawal rules for Axis products. HDFC Activ states a combined cash-deposit and withdrawal formula, but the cited material does not spell out every branch-channel condition. Ask about non-home withdrawals, identification requirements, notice periods, daily limits and whether withdrawals reduce the same allowance used for deposits.
Which account fits common SME situations?
Cash-light sole proprietor
Compare Liberty Digital, Normal and Professionals. Liberty Digital has the lowest listed MAB in semi-urban/rural locations and a lower metro/urban threshold than Normal, but its alternative non-cash-credit condition and cash pricing need clarification. Professionals has a clearly stated ₹10,000 AQB, ₹1,500 quarterly non-maintenance charge and a generous stated cash allowance, subject to the 25-transaction test.
Rank #4
- Easy To Track Your Finances: HAUTOCO accounting ledger book keeps you on top of your expenses and income! Help you keep your money organized, spend well, and set and achieve financial goals
- Premium Material: The A5 accounting ledger book has a total of 120 pages and 2040 lines of entries. It is made of 100gsm thick paper to reduce ink leakage; it is equipped with a waterproof and sturdy PP cover to protect the inner pages
- Practical Design: Compact 8.3 x 6.2'' expense tracker notebook is easy to carry and features information pages, 2025 calendar, yearly financial goals page, and PVC pocket for storing important tickets and loose items
- Manage Your Finances Effectively: Undated accounting books with number, date, description, account, payment or deposit amount, and total balance. You will be able to easily analyze your financial activities and quickly prepare accurate financial statements
- Ideal For Small Business or Personal Use: An accounting log journal can track your business or personal financial status. With a clear record of transactions, you can find unnecessary expenses or fraudulent charges
Small retailer depositing up to ₹2 lakh monthly
Axis Normal is easy to model because the published limit is a fixed ₹2 lakh per month. HDFC Professionals offers a much higher rupee allowance but charges ₹1,500 per quarter if the AQB is missed and prices excess cash at ₹4 per ₹1,000 with a ₹50 minimum. Compare your actual deposit count and the cost of maintaining each balance requirement.
Seasonal merchant with uneven receipts
Compare Axis Select with HDFC Activ. Both use a multiple of an average balance, but Axis uses MAB and HDFC uses current-month AMB. HDFC’s formula can track the month’s balance more directly, while Axis Select has a lower stated ceiling of ₹50 lakh. Use your busiest and weakest months—not only your annual average—in the calculation.
Business with substantial cash and strong balances
Ascent and Activ publish a 10-times-current-month-AMB formula with a ₹50 crore cap, while Select publishes 10-times-MAB capped at ₹50 lakh. The HDFC products may provide more headroom on paper, but they also carry a ₹3,000 quarterly non-maintenance charge and the ₹4-per-₹1,000 excess rate. Verify that the branch can operationally handle your deposit volume and that the account’s legal-form eligibility is correct.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Professional practice with many small deposits
Professionals may be attractive if total cash remains below ₹10 lakh and the number of deposits stays below 25. If you routinely make more than 25 deposits, the transaction limit can become the binding constraint even when the rupee total is modest. Obtain the bank’s definition of a cash transaction before deciding.
A practical selection and opening checklist
- Write down the legal form, operating address and branch location classification.
- Calculate the average balance you can realistically maintain each month and quarter, including seasonal lows.
- List cash deposits and withdrawals by month, including the number of visits and the largest single transaction.
- Apply each product’s formula: fixed rupees, transaction count, MAB multiple or current-month AMB multiple.
- Add non-maintenance charges and excess-cash charges to the comparison. For HDFC, include the ₹50 minimum on each excess transaction.
- Confirm digital requirements: NEFT/RTGS, bulk payments, collections, mobile and net banking, payment links and bill pay.
- Ask for home and non-home branch cash rules, cut-off times, instrument charges and any notice requirement for large deposits.
- Request the current schedule of charges, effective date and exact scheme code in writing.
- Check that the account is available to your entity type and that the quoted metro/urban or semi-urban/rural threshold is the one applicable to your branch.
- Recheck all figures immediately before signing because banks can revise product names, limits, fees and eligibility.
Common comparison mistakes
- Comparing MAB with AQB as if they were identical. A monthly test and a quarterly test can produce different compliance results even at the same rupee threshold.
- Looking only at the maximum cap. A ₹50 crore cap does not mean that amount is free; the allowance is still tied to AMB.
- Ignoring transaction counts. Professionals and EZEE can be constrained by the number of deposits as well as the rupee total.
- Assuming a catalogue feature applies to every account. Confirm digital collections, dynamic limits and payment services for the exact scheme code.
- Using a city-wide assumption for branch classification. Metro, urban, semi-urban and rural categories affect several published thresholds.
- Forgetting withdrawal rules. Home-branch and non-home-branch treatment can materially change a cash-heavy business’s operating cost.
- Relying on an old fee sheet. HDFC figures cited here are effective June 1, 2026; always obtain the current version.
Final decision
Choose Axis Normal when your business is a small retailer or proprietor with cash deposits up to the published ₹2 lakh monthly limit and you value unlimited digital NEFT/RTGS and home-branch cash withdrawal. Choose Liberty Digital when you are an eligible sole proprietorship and its lower location-based MAB is more practical, after clarifying the alternative non-cash-credit condition.
Choose Axis Select when a ₹50,000 MAB is realistic and the 10-times-MAB formula, capped at ₹50 lakh, matches your cash cycle. Choose HDFC Professionals for a professional or smaller firm that can satisfy a ₹10,000 AQB and stay within the ₹10 lakh-or-25-transaction free-deposit rule. Choose HDFC Activ or Ascent when your cash requirement is variable and an AMB-linked allowance is more useful, accepting the ₹3,000 quarterly non-maintenance charge and the stated excess-cash pricing.
Before opening either bank account, compare the exact written fee schedule for your branch and legal form. The best account is the one whose balance measurement, cash formula, digital tools and branch rules fit your actual operating pattern.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

