The iPhone 17 is the smaller, lighter option, while Motorola’s edge 70 max pairs a larger, higher-refresh display with a much higher stated battery capacity and faster listed charging. There is no defensible current price-gap figure in the available pricing information: the documented €699 figure is the Motorola’s Spain launch price for one configuration, not a current quote, and no matching iPhone 17 price is established.
At a glance: iPhone 17 vs edge 70 max
| Specification | Apple iPhone 17 | Motorola edge 70 max |
|---|---|---|
| Platform and processor | Apple lists the A19 chip. Apple specifications | Android 16 and Snapdragon 8 Gen 5. Motorola support specifications |
| Memory and storage | 256GB or 512GB storage; RAM is not stated on Apple’s cited specifications page. Apple specifications | 8GB RAM and 256GB UFS 4.1 on Motorola’s support page; Motorola notes specifications may vary by market. Motorola support specifications |
| Display | 6.3-inch OLED, 2622 × 1206, 460 ppi; adaptive refresh up to 120Hz. Apple specifications | 6.82-inch Extreme AMOLED, 1440 × 3168, 510 ppi; refresh up to 144Hz and listed peak brightness of 7000 nits. Motorola support specifications |
| Weight | 177g. Apple specifications | 221g. Motorola support specifications |
| Rear camera information | 48MP Fusion Main and 48MP Fusion Ultra Wide. Apple specifications | Motorola highlights a 50MP Sony LYTIA 710 sensor on its product page; consult its support specifications for the regional camera listing. Motorola product page · Motorola support specifications |
| Battery and charging | Battery capacity and directly comparable charging figures are not stated on Apple’s cited specifications page. Apple specifications | 7100mAh silicon-carbon battery; 90W wired and 25W Qi2 wireless charging advertised on Motorola’s Ireland product page. Motorola product page |
| Water and dust resistance | IP68; Apple specifies a maximum depth of 6m for up to 30 minutes under IEC 60529. Apple specifications | IP68/IP69 listed by Motorola; specifications may vary by market. Motorola support specifications |
Which phone has the better display and size?
The Motorola is substantially larger: its 6.82-inch panel is 0.52 inches bigger diagonally than the iPhone 17’s 6.3-inch screen. It also has the higher stated resolution and maximum refresh rate. That makes the Motorola the specification-led choice for a spacious screen and refresh rates up to 144Hz; it does not, on its own, establish which display looks better in everyday use.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The iPhone 17’s 177g weight is 44g below the Motorola’s 221g. If a lighter phone or a more compact screen matters more than maximum screen area, that difference is likely to be more consequential than the raw resolution figures. Neither set of specifications proves which handset feels more comfortable in a particular hand.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Performance, software and storage
Apple lists its A19 chip, while Motorola lists the Snapdragon 8 Gen 5 and Android 16. Processor names come from different platforms and do not constitute a controlled performance comparison; the cited specifications provide no same-test benchmark or real-world speed result. Choose based on the operating system you want and the storage configuration that suits you rather than treating chip names as a head-to-head score.
#1 Best Overall
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
The listed storage choices differ. Apple offers 256GB and 512GB capacities. Motorola’s EMEA support specifications show 8GB RAM and 256GB UFS 4.1, with a warning that specifications can vary by market. The cited sources do not establish a matching higher-capacity edge 70 max configuration.
Camera specifications: what can and cannot be compared
Apple specifies two 48MP rear cameras: a Fusion Main and a Fusion Ultra Wide. Motorola’s product page calls out a 50MP Sony LYTIA 710 sensor, while its support page gives the regional camera specification list. Megapixel counts and a named sensor do not tell you which phone takes better photos or video: the cited sources contain no controlled side-by-side image or video tests.
Rank #2
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
If camera quality is the deciding factor, these hardware details are a starting point, not a verdict. Look for comparisons made under consistent conditions that cover the kinds of photos and video you actually take; none is established by the specifications cited here.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Battery capacity and charging
Motorola lists a 7100mAh silicon-carbon battery and advertises 90W wired TurboPower and 25W Qi2 wireless charging on its Ireland product page. Its support page estimates up to 73 hours of battery life, but Motorola describes its figures as approximate and dependent on conditions including network signal, settings, temperature and battery condition. That is a manufacturer estimate, not a guaranteed runtime for every user.
Rank #3
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
Apple’s cited iPhone 17 specifications do not state a battery capacity or a directly comparable runtime figure. The Motorola therefore leads on the published capacity and charging figures, but those specifications do not establish which phone lasts longer in real use. A fair runtime comparison would require comparable testing.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Durability claims are not interchangeable
Motorola lists IP68/IP69 protection and MIL-STD 810H on its support page, while noting that specifications may vary by market. Apple lists IP68 and specifies a maximum depth of 6m for up to 30 minutes under IEC 60529. These are differently worded claims with different stated contexts; they should not be read as equivalent guarantees or as permission to expose either phone to water or dust without regard to its care guidance.
Rank #4
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
Price difference: what is actually established?
Cinco Días reported that the Motorola edge 70 max with 8GB RAM and 256GB storage launched in Spain at €699 on 15 July 2026. That dated launch figure is useful context, not a current retailer price. The cited sources do not establish a matching current iPhone 17 price for Spain or another specific market, so a numerical price difference cannot be stated reliably. Check same-country prices for the same date and, where possible, comparable storage before deciding which costs less.
Recommended Free Tools
Quick Recap
Which one should you choose?
- Choose the iPhone 17 if you want the lighter 177g handset, a 6.3-inch screen, Apple’s A19 platform, or a choice between 256GB and 512GB storage.
- Consider the edge 70 max if you prefer a 6.82-inch display with refresh up to 144Hz, want the larger stated battery and faster listed charging, or want Android 16 with the listed Snapdragon 8 Gen 5.
- Do not decide on camera or battery life from specification sheets alone: the cited material does not provide controlled camera comparisons or comparable real-world battery tests.
- Compare prices locally before buying: the documented Motorola price is a Spain launch price for a particular configuration, not a current quote, and there is no matching iPhone figure here.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

