The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Choose AirPods 4 with Active Noise Cancellation (ANC) if you want an open-ear fit and ANC without silicone tips. Choose AirPods Pro 2 if you prefer an in-ear seal, want the stronger noise cancellation Apple claims, need longer listed ANC battery life, or may use the Pro-only hearing-health features. Neither design is universally more comfortable, so fit should be your first decision.
The decision in one table
Both models use Apple’s H2 headphone chip and offer active noise control, but they are built for different ears and different priorities. The figures below are Apple’s specifications or product claims, not independent measurements.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
| Category | AirPods 4 with ANC | AirPods Pro 2 | What it means |
|---|---|---|---|
| Introduced | 2024 | 2022 | Pro 2 is the older model, but Apple still lists it with the more extensive feature set in this comparison. |
| Ear fit | Open-ear design | In-ear design with silicone tips | Choose the style your ears can wear securely and comfortably. |
| Noise control | ANC, Adaptive Audio, Transparency, Conversation Awareness | ANC, Adaptive Transparency, Conversation Awareness | Apple says Pro 2 provides up to twice as much ANC as AirPods 4 with ANC. |
| Battery with ANC | Up to 4 hours per charge; up to 20 hours with the case | Up to 6 hours per charge; up to 30 hours with the case | Pro 2 has the higher published estimates. |
| Battery with noise control off | Up to 5 hours per charge; up to 30 hours with the case | Not stated on Apple’s comparison page | Do not treat the two products’ battery figures as independently tested equivalents. |
| Hearing-health tools | Not listed in Apple’s specifications as having Pro 2 Hearing Test or Hearing Aid support | Hearing Test and Hearing Aid features, subject to age, device, software and regional requirements | Pro 2 is the relevant choice for eligible users seeking those tools. |
| Case | USB-C; Find My speaker; Apple Watch charger and Qi-certified charging support | MagSafe Charging Case with USB-C and a U1 chip | Your existing chargers and locating habits may decide this. |
| Resistance rating | IP54 dust, sweat and water resistance | IPX4 sweat and water resistance | Neither rating makes the earbuds waterproof. |
| UK launch price | £179 (September 2024) | £229 (September 2024 announcement) | These are historical UK launch prices, not current or worldwide prices. |
Apple’s full model comparison is available at Apple’s AirPods comparison page.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Start with the fit: open ear or silicone tip?
AirPods 4 with ANC: an open-ear approach
AirPods 4 with ANC sit at the entrance of the ear rather than sealing the ear canal with a removable tip. Apple describes this as an open-ear design. That can be attractive if you dislike the plugged-up sensation of in-ear buds, want more awareness of nearby sounds, or cannot get silicone tips to stay comfortable.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
The trade-off is physical isolation. An open design does not create the same seal as an in-ear monitor, so outside sound can remain audible even when ANC is active. Ear shape also affects stability: a bud that stays put during a commute may loosen during exercise, while another person’s experience can be the opposite. Apple’s launch description calls the design its most advanced open-ear audio experience, but that is product positioning rather than an independent comfort or sound-quality test. The announcement is at Apple Newsroom.
AirPods Pro 2: a sealed in-ear fit
AirPods Pro 2 use silicone ear tips to form a seal inside the ear canal. A good seal generally helps an earbud’s noise cancellation system and bass response because less outside sound reaches the eardrum. It can also feel more secure for some listeners. Others may dislike the pressure, warmth or sensation of an inserted tip.
Apple supplies multiple tip sizes with Pro 2, but the existence of size options does not guarantee a fit for every ear. You should be prepared to try the supplied sizes and check whether the buds remain sealed when you talk, walk and turn your head. The specifications are listed on Apple’s AirPods Pro 2 support page.
How to make the fit decision
- Decide whether you can comfortably wear silicone tips for several hours.
- If you strongly prefer an unobstructed feeling, start with the open-ear AirPods 4 design.
- If you regularly travel in loud environments or need a stable seal for low frequencies, give the Pro 2 in-ear design priority.
- Do not select either model solely because someone else calls it more comfortable; Apple’s published material contains no hands-on or independent comfort testing.
How much better is the noise cancellation?
Both models include ANC, but Apple says AirPods Pro 2 deliver up to two times more Active Noise Cancellation than AirPods 4 with ANC. That is Apple’s comparison claim, not a laboratory result from an independent tester. The difference is also affected by fit: Pro 2’s silicone seal gives its microphones and processing a physical advantage against many steady sounds, while AirPods 4 leave the ear more open.
AirPods 4 control modes
Apple lists ANC, Adaptive Audio, Transparency mode and Conversation Awareness for AirPods 4 with ANC. Adaptive Audio blends noise control and outside sound, while Conversation Awareness is designed to lower media and make nearby conversation easier to hear when you start speaking. The open-ear fit may already let more environmental sound through, so Transparency mode is not the only way to stay aware of your surroundings.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
AirPods Pro 2 control modes
Pro 2 add Adaptive Transparency to ANC and include Conversation Awareness. Apple also lists Conversation Boost, Loud Sound Reduction and Background Sounds in the Pro 2 specification set. Those controls make Pro 2 the more feature-rich choice if you frequently move between loud transport, office conversations and quiet listening.
Neither product should be described as eliminating every sound. Voices, irregular noises and sounds conducted through your body can remain audible, and effectiveness changes with ear position, seal, volume and the environment. Treat Apple’s “up to 2x” statement as a directional product comparison, not a promise of a fixed reduction in every situation.
Battery life: what the published numbers actually say
Apple rates AirPods 4 with ANC for up to four hours per charge with ANC enabled and up to 20 hours when the case is included. With noise control turned off, Apple lists up to five hours per charge and up to 30 hours including the case. These are manufacturer estimates under Apple’s test conditions; actual runtime varies with volume, feature use, calls and other factors.
For AirPods Pro 2, Apple’s comparison lists up to six hours per charge with ANC enabled and up to 30 hours with the case. Those figures are also manufacturer specifications rather than independently measured results. The practical implication is straightforward: if you spend long stretches away from a charger while keeping ANC on, Pro 2 offers more stated reserve both in the earbuds and in the case.
Do not compare the “noise control off” figure for AirPods 4 directly with an unstated Pro 2 figure as though they were a controlled test. Apple’s published comparison does not provide a matching off-mode estimate for Pro 2.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Hearing-health features make Pro 2 a different category
Apple describes Hearing Test and Hearing Aid features for AirPods Pro 2 when paired with compatible Apple devices and software. Apple’s October 2024 white paper says the Hearing Aid feature is intended for people aged 18 or older and includes user adjustment controls. The white paper is available at Apple’s Hearing Health Features on AirPods Pro 2 PDF.
These tools can be a decisive reason to choose Pro 2 if you meet the stated eligibility requirements. They are not a reason to assume every iPhone, iPad or country supports every function. Apple can change software requirements, regulatory clearance and regional availability, so verify the current compatibility list for your location before purchase. A hearing test result from earbuds is not a substitute for individualized medical care or a professional assessment when you have concerns about hearing.
Apple’s AirPods 4 specifications do not list the Pro 2 Hearing Test or Hearing Aid features for AirPods 4 with ANC. If those tools are central to your decision, the comparison therefore points to Pro 2 rather than AirPods 4.
Audio processing and everyday features
Capabilities shared or broadly similar
Both models use Apple’s H2 headphone chip and support ANC-related processing, Transparency-style listening, Adaptive EQ and Personalized Spatial Audio with dynamic head tracking. The shared processing platform means the choice is not simply “new chip versus old chip”; the physical fit and feature allocation matter more.
AirPods 4 with ANC specifications
Apple lists Bluetooth 5.3, Voice Isolation, Conversation Awareness and Personalized Spatial Audio for AirPods 4 with ANC. Voice Isolation is intended to improve call clarity in noisy surroundings, while Adaptive EQ adjusts the sound as the earbuds sit in your ears. These are listed capabilities, not a claim that call quality will be identical in every phone, room or network condition.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
AirPods Pro 2 specifications
Apple lists Adaptive Transparency, Loud Sound Reduction, Conversation Boost and Background Sounds for Pro 2 in addition to ANC, Adaptive EQ and Personalized Spatial Audio. If you want more listening controls for conversations and environmental sound, Pro 2 has the broader published set. The specifications do not establish a universal advantage in musical detail, microphone quality or comfort, because no independent listening or call test is included.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Cases, charging and durability
AirPods 4 with ANC case
The AirPods 4 with ANC case charges through USB-C, includes a speaker for Find My locating, and supports an Apple Watch charger or Qi-certified charger. That combination is useful if you already keep a USB-C cable and charge an Apple Watch or Qi device on your desk.
Apple rates the AirPods 4 with ANC and its case IP54 for dust, sweat and water resistance. IP54 includes a dust-protection level and resistance to water splashes, but it does not mean the product can be submerged or used as a waterproof earbud. Wipe away moisture and follow Apple’s care guidance after workouts.
AirPods Pro 2 case
Pro 2 use a MagSafe Charging Case with USB-C, and Apple lists a U1 chip in the case. The U1 is relevant to Apple’s precision-finding ecosystem for compatible devices. Pro 2 are rated IPX4 for sweat and water resistance. The X means the rating does not specify a dust-protection level; the 4 indicates resistance to water splashes. It is not a waterproof rating.
Choose based on the charging hardware and locating features you actually use, rather than assuming one resistance label guarantees better real-world durability. Neither model is presented by Apple as waterproof.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Price and value: use launch prices carefully
Apple’s September 2024 UK announcement listed AirPods 4 with ANC at £179 and AirPods Pro 2 at £229. Those are dated UK launch prices. They should not be treated as today’s prices, a worldwide price, or a guarantee of what a retailer charges after discounts and model changes. Check the current price in your country before deciding on value. The historical figures come from Apple’s 9 September 2024 announcement.
At those launch prices, the difference was £50, but the better value depends on what you will use. Paying less for AirPods 4 with ANC makes sense when open-ear comfort is non-negotiable and you do not need Pro hearing tools or the strongest listed ANC. Paying more for Pro 2 is easier to justify when the in-ear seal, longer ANC estimate, broader listening controls or hearing-health support will be used frequently. A discount can change the calculation, so compare current prices rather than anchoring to launch numbers.
Choose by situation
Choose AirPods 4 with ANC when…
- You want ANC but reject silicone tips or an inserted-ear feeling.
- You prefer to hear more of your surroundings without relying entirely on a Transparency mode.
- You want a USB-C case that can charge from an Apple Watch charger or Qi-certified charger.
- The Pro 2 hearing-health features are not relevant to you.
- You are comfortable accepting Apple’s lower published ANC battery estimates in exchange for the open-ear design.
Choose AirPods Pro 2 when…
- You can wear silicone tips comfortably and want an in-ear seal.
- You spend time on aircraft, trains, buses or other loud commutes where maximum isolation matters.
- You want Apple’s claim of up to twice the ANC of AirPods 4 with ANC and understand that it is not an independent test result.
- You want the longer listed ANC runtime and case reserve.
- You may use Hearing Test or Hearing Aid features and meet Apple’s age, device, software and regional requirements.
- You want Pro-only controls such as Adaptive Transparency, Conversation Boost, Loud Sound Reduction and Background Sounds.
When neither is an obvious winner
If your only question is which sounds better, Apple’s listed specifications do not settle it. They list processing features but contain no independent listening test. The same is true for microphone performance, call quality, workout stability and all-day comfort. In those cases, prioritize a return policy that lets you verify the fit and controls in your own routine, and do not convert Apple’s feature list into a guarantee of personal experience.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsA practical buying checklist
- Confirm the fit category: open-ear AirPods 4 or silicone-tip Pro 2.
- Set your noise-control priority: basic ANC in an open design, or Apple’s stronger published ANC claim with an in-ear seal.
- Estimate your longest listening session: compare your routine with the manufacturer battery estimates, allowing for volume, calls and feature use.
- Check hearing-health eligibility: verify your age, Apple device, software version and country support before paying extra for Pro 2.
- Match the case to your chargers: AirPods 4 support Apple Watch and Qi-certified charging; Pro 2 use a MagSafe USB-C case and list a U1 chip.
- Check the current local price: the £179 and £229 figures are historical UK launch prices only.
- Keep expectations realistic: IP54 and IPX4 are splash and sweat-resistance ratings, not permission to submerge either product.
Bottom line
AirPods 4 with ANC are the better buy for someone who specifically wants an open-ear fit with active noise cancellation. AirPods Pro 2 are the better buy for someone comfortable with silicone tips who values stronger claimed ANC, longer listed ANC battery life, richer environmental-audio controls or the Pro-only hearing-health tools. Apple’s specifications establish those product differences; they do not establish a universal comfort, sound-quality or call-quality winner.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

