The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Verdict: The AEG A58LTR18U is a high-voltage cordless trimmer kit built around the ALT58BT brushless tool, an 8.0Ah 58V battery and a 5A charger. Its published 38–43cm cutting path and 2.4mm line specification suit substantial grass and larger garden jobs, while the aluminium split shaft and harness address transport and handling. However, the available public independent-test page does not disclose scores or cutting results, so this is a specification-led buying assessment rather than proof of real-world performance.
Before buying or using one, confirm the exact package contents, check the battery’s manufacturing code against AEG’s voluntary recall notice, and preserve warranty eligibility by buying through an authorised channel and registering on time.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What the AEG A58LTR18U kit is
The A58LTR18U is a complete 58V line-trimmer package rather than a tool-only sale. AEG’s Australian specification sheet identifies the power unit as the ALT58BT 58V brushless line trimmer. The kit designation adds an Ultimate HD 8.0Ah battery and charger, so the buyer can operate it without sourcing a separate battery system.
| Item | What AEG lists | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Trimmer | ALT58BT, 58V brushless line trimmer | The tool model used for replacement-head compatibility and service identification. |
| Battery | Ultimate HD 8.0Ah 58V battery | Higher capacity than the 4.0Ah battery option in the same platform, but also a substantial component to lift and charge. |
| Charger | 5A charger | Included in the kit; the public CHOICE listing reports a 65-minute charge time for its tested/listed configuration. |
| Harness | Included | Important because the complete tool-and-battery assembly is heavier than a typical light cordless trimmer. |
| Documentation | Manual and warranty card | Keep both, particularly for shaft assembly, line-head servicing and warranty claims. |
AEG’s sheet gives the tool a 7.2kg net weight. That figure is not directly interchangeable with the public CHOICE listing, which shows 6.6kg. Battery state, whether the harness or guard is included, and the weighing configuration can all change a packaged or ready-to-use figure. If carrying weight is a deciding factor, weigh the complete configuration you will actually use rather than relying on one number.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Published specifications, with the discrepancies explained
| Specification | AEG/TTI specification sheet | CHOICE public listing |
|---|---|---|
| Voltage and motor | 58V brushless | 58V lithium-ion; the public page does not expose detailed motor-test results. |
| Cutting measurement | Adjustable 38–43cm cutting path | 46cm cutting diameter |
| Line diameter | 2.4mm | 2.4mm |
| Line arrangement | Not separately stated on the cited sheet | Two cutting lines |
| Feed system | Not separately stated on the cited sheet | Bump feed |
| Weight | 7.2kg net | 6.6kg |
| Battery energy | 8.0Ah battery included; watt-hour figure not stated on the cited sheet | 202Wh listed |
| Charge time | Not stated on the cited sheet | 65 minutes listed |
| Shaft | Aluminium and split for compact storage and attachment capability | Not stated on the public product summary |
These are different published measurements, not a reason to silently pick one set as “the” specification. A cutting path can describe the adjustable working width, while a cutting diameter may be measured differently around a head and line arrangement. The same caution applies to weight. Check the current manual and the label on the regional package if a precise dimension is essential.
How the size and line specification affect work
38–43cm adjustable cutting path
AEG positions the trimmer for larger jobs and describes it as providing the power of petrol with cordless convenience. That is the manufacturer’s positioning, not an independently verified output measurement. A wider path can reduce passes across open grass, but it also demands more attention around fences, garden beds, young trees and edging that you do not want to strike. The ability to adjust between 38cm and 43cm gives you a choice between a more controlled working width and faster coverage where clearance allows it.
2.4mm line
The specified maximum line diameter is 2.4mm. Do not substitute a thicker line on the assumption that a 58V motor will tolerate it: the compatible AAC1004 head is also rated to a maximum of 2.4mm. Thicker or unsuitable line can increase load, reduce feed reliability and create a compatibility or safety problem. Buy line that matches the diameter stated for the fitted head and follow the loading method in the manual.
Brushless drive and battery weight
The brushless motor is the central hardware distinction from basic low-voltage cordless trimmers. It is designed for a higher-power platform, but the kit’s 8.0Ah battery contributes significantly to total mass. The included harness is therefore functional equipment, not an optional comfort extra. Correctly adjusting the harness so the head is balanced at the intended cutting height will matter more than the headline voltage alone.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
What the public independent evidence can and cannot establish
CHOICE’s public product page classifies the AEG as a cordless medium-yard trimmer and displays selected specifications: 58V lithium-ion power, 202Wh, a 65-minute charge time, bump feed, two cutting lines, 2.4mm line, 6.6kg and a 46cm cutting diameter. The page does not reveal its detailed scores or test outcomes publicly. Consequently, there is no public basis here for claiming a CHOICE rating, recommendation, measured runtime, noise result, cutting-speed result or durability result.
The practical conclusion is narrower but useful: the hardware specification supports considering the A58LTR18U for more demanding work than a small domestic trimmer, while actual productivity in thick grass, wet growth or weeds remains unestablished by the public evidence available. Buyers who need a performance guarantee should arrange a retailer demonstration or rely on a return policy they have verified, rather than treating the manufacturer’s “petrol power” wording as a test result.
Replacement head: does the AEG AAC1004 fit?
Yes. AEG’s AAC1004 bump-feed head page explicitly lists ALT58BT among its compatible models. Because ALT58BT is the trimmer in the A58LTR18U kit, AAC1004 is the documented replacement head for this package.
| AAC1004 detail | Published specification |
|---|---|
| Head type | Bump feed |
| Compatible tool | ALT58BT, among other listed models |
| Maximum line diameter | 2.4mm |
| Maximum line length | 3.6m |
Safe replacement sequence
- Switch the trimmer off, remove the battery and wait for the head to stop completely.
- Confirm that the replacement is AAC1004 or another part explicitly listed for ALT58BT; do not rely only on a similar-looking spindle or guard.
- Use the manual’s locking and removal procedure for the fitted head. Do not force a retaining nut or improvise a washer arrangement.
- Load no more than 3.6m of line in the AAC1004 and keep the line at or below 2.4mm diameter.
- Check that the head rotates freely by hand with the battery still removed, then refit the battery and test at low load in a clear area.
Trimming heads and accessories can have separate or excluded warranty terms, so retain the receipt for the head itself and do not assume the tool warranty covers normal wear or a damaged spool.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Battery, charging and the 58V recall check
What is known about charging
The kit includes a 5A charger. CHOICE’s public listing states a 65-minute charge time and 202Wh battery figure for its listed configuration. Treat that as a published listing value, not a guaranteed time for every battery condition. A deeply discharged, hot, cold or ageing battery may take longer, and the charger should be used only as directed in the manual.
No verified runtime figure is available for this model. Runtime will vary with line diameter, cutting width, grass density, moisture, bump-feed use, battery age and operator technique. A larger 8.0Ah pack generally gives more stored capacity than a 4.0Ah pack in the same platform, but it also adds weight; the available evidence does not support promising a particular number of minutes or area covered.
Why the recall notice matters
AEG identifies 58V A58BAT18 (8Ah) and A58BAT14 (4Ah) batteries as subject to a voluntary recall. The affected-product list includes the A58LTR18 8Ah line-trimmer kit family. That wording does not mean every A58LTR18U kit or every battery is recalled. Eligibility depends on the battery’s serial manufacturing-code range.
How to check your kit
- Remove the battery from the trimmer and photograph the model and manufacturing-code label clearly.
- Compare the code with the affected ranges in AEG’s current recall notice; do not decide based only on the A58LTR18U kit name.
- If the code falls within an affected range, stop using and charging that battery and follow AEG’s contact and remedy instructions.
- If the label is unreadable or the code is borderline, contact AEG with the battery model, code and purchase details before using it again.
- Keep the charger and battery isolated from combustible materials while awaiting instructions, and never open or repair a recalled lithium-ion pack yourself.
A recall check is worthwhile even when the tool appears new, because a kit can remain in retail or resale channels after its original distribution.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Warranty terms and where you buy matter
AEG Australia’s live warranty information states that 58V cordless power tools receive a 36-month standard warranty. A further 36 months may be available after qualifying online registration completed within 30 days. For 58V batteries and chargers, AEG lists a 12-month standard warranty with a possible additional 24 months after qualifying registration.
| Component | Standard term | Possible registered extension | Condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| 58V cordless tool | 36 months | Further 36 months | Qualifying registration within 30 days. |
| 58V battery | 12 months | Further 24 months | Qualifying registration within 30 days. |
| 58V charger | 12 months | Further 24 months | Qualifying registration within 30 days. |
| Trimming heads and accessories | Separate or excluded terms | Not stated as the tool extension | Check the applicable accessory policy. |
AEG says its manufacturer warranty is not valid for purchases from Amazon, eBay and other non-authorised websites. The eligible channels named by AEG are Bunnings Australia/New Zealand and Tool Kit Depot Australia. If you buy through another seller, confirm authorisation and warranty treatment in writing before paying. Register promptly, save the invoice, record the battery code and keep the model number; those details can determine whether a claim is straightforward.
Setup and first-use checklist
- Inventory the package. Confirm the ALT58BT tool, harness, 8.0Ah battery, 5A charger, manual and warranty card are present before disposing of packaging.
- Inspect the battery label. Complete the recall-code check before charging or fitting the battery.
- Assemble the split shaft. Follow the manual’s coupling and locking procedure. The aluminium shaft is split for compact storage and attachment capability, so the joint must be fully seated and secured before operation.
- Fit the approved head and line. Use the supplied head or documented AAC1004 replacement, with line no larger than 2.4mm.
- Adjust the harness. Set the strap so the trimmer hangs balanced without forcing the cutting head into the ground. Recheck balance after fitting the battery.
- Charge in a suitable location. Use the supplied charger, keep ventilation clear and follow the manual’s temperature and indicator guidance.
- Select the cutting width. Use the 38–43cm setting appropriate to the area: narrower for obstacles and tighter control, wider for open coverage.
- Test the bump feed. With the battery installed and the area clear, verify that a controlled bump advances line as described in the manual. If it fails, remove the battery before inspecting the spool.
- Start with a light pass. Work through known-clear grass first, then adjust pace and width for denser growth. Avoid using a larger line or forcing the head to compensate for a blunt or damaged cutting system.
Maintenance and troubleshooting
| Symptom | Checks to make | When to stop and seek service |
|---|---|---|
| Line does not advance | Confirm the spool is loaded in the correct direction, line is within the 3.6m AAC1004 limit, and the bump mechanism is not clogged with grass. | If the head binds, cracks or remains jammed after the battery is removed. |
| Heavy vibration | Remove the battery; inspect for uneven line lengths, a damaged spool, packed debris or a bent head. | Any bent shaft, cracked head or vibration that persists after cleaning and correct loading. |
| Shorter-than-expected runtime | Check line diameter, cutting width, dense or wet growth, battery temperature, charge completion and battery age. | If the pack overheats, swells, smells unusual or fails to charge. |
| Tool will not start | Check battery seating, charge indication, shaft interlock/assembly and the operating sequence in the manual. | If a charged, unaffected battery still produces no response. |
| Excessive head wear | Inspect contact with concrete, edging and wire; use the narrower setting around obstacles. | When the guard, head or retaining hardware is damaged. |
| Battery code may be recalled | Stop using and charging; compare the manufacturing code with AEG’s affected ranges. | Contact AEG for instructions rather than testing the pack further. |
Clean grass from the head and shaft after each session, store the split shaft in a dry place and avoid leaving the battery on the charger indefinitely. For all mechanical work, disconnect the battery first. The manual remains the authority for fastener torque, disassembly and approved replacement parts.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →How it compares with the alternatives buyers usually consider
| Decision factor | A58LTR18U implication | What to verify against another trimmer |
|---|---|---|
| Cutting coverage | AEG states 38–43cm adjustable path; CHOICE lists 46cm diameter. | Ensure the rival’s path or diameter is measured the same way. |
| Line durability | 2.4mm line is the stated specification. | Check maximum diameter, line availability and spool-loading cost. |
| Handling | Published weight is 7.2kg net from AEG and 6.6kg on CHOICE; a harness is included. | Compare ready-to-use weight with battery installed, not tool-only weight. |
| Energy and charging | Includes an 8.0Ah battery and 5A charger; CHOICE lists 202Wh and 65 minutes. | Check whether a competing price includes battery and charger. |
| Maintenance | Bump-feed head; AAC1004 is documented for ALT58BT. | Confirm replacement-head availability and line limits before purchase. |
| Evidence quality | Public CHOICE specifications are available, but detailed scores and results are gated. | Do not treat marketing claims or a specification table as a cutting-performance test. |
| Warranty | Tool: 36 months plus possible 36-month registration extension; battery/charger: 12 months plus possible 24 months. | Check seller authorisation and registration deadlines. |
| Safety status | Battery serial-code recall check is required for potentially affected 58V packs. | Check recall notices for the exact battery model and code. |
This framework highlights the AEG’s trade-off: it packages a large battery and high-voltage tool for demanding work, but the resulting system is heavier than lightweight cordless equipment and lacks a publicly disclosed independent performance score.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Price and availability: what can be stated
An AEG promotion running from January to March 2024 listed the A58LTR18U at A$799. That was a time-limited promotional price and is not a current quote. Current stock, pricing and seller status are not established here, so treat any present-day listing as a separate offer to verify for included battery, charger, warranty eligibility and recall status.
When comparing a current price, include the value of the 8.0Ah battery, 5A charger and harness. A cheaper tool-only listing is not an equivalent comparison, and a used kit deserves a battery-code check before money changes hands.
Strengths and limitations
Strengths
- Complete kit with the ALT58BT tool, 8.0Ah battery, 5A charger and harness.
- 58V brushless platform aimed at larger jobs than entry-level cordless trimmers.
- Adjustable 38–43cm manufacturer cutting path and 2.4mm line specification.
- Aluminium split shaft supports compact storage and attachment capability.
- Documented AAC1004 replacement head with a clear 2.4mm line and 3.6m maximum-line limit.
- Potentially long tool warranty when bought through an eligible channel and registered within 30 days.
Limitations and risks
- Published weight and cutting measurements differ between AEG and CHOICE, so buyers should verify the exact regional configuration.
- Public CHOICE material does not disclose scores or measured cutting performance.
- No verified runtime figure is available.
- The 8.0Ah battery increases carrying weight and requires harness adjustment.
- The A58LTR18 family appears in a voluntary battery-recall notice; serial-code checking is essential.
- Amazon, eBay and other non-authorised purchases are excluded from AEG’s manufacturer warranty according to AEG’s policy.
- Accessory and trimming-head coverage is separate from the main tool warranty.
Final buying verdict
The AEG A58LTR18U makes the most sense for an Australian buyer who wants a complete, high-voltage cordless system, expects to tackle substantial grass or larger areas, and is prepared to carry a heavier battery-equipped tool with the supplied harness. The 8.0Ah pack, 5A charger, adjustable cutting path and documented AAC1004 head give the kit a coherent specification rather than a bare tool with missing essentials.
Recommended Free Tools
It is not possible to certify petrol-equivalent cutting performance from the public evidence available: AEG’s “power of petrol” statement is promotional positioning, and CHOICE’s detailed results are not public. The purchase decision should therefore rest on the published dimensions, included equipment, service terms and your tolerance for weight—not on an assumed runtime or test score.
Check the battery manufacturing code before first charge, buy through a channel covered by AEG’s warranty policy, register within 30 days if eligible, and use only the 2.4mm-compatible head and line specification. With those checks completed, the A58LTR18U is a plausible large-yard cordless option; without them, the recall and warranty risks outweigh the convenience of the package.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

