Verdict: The 8BitDo Ultimate 3 for Xbox is an unusually well-equipped $99.99 premium controller. Adjustable-force TMR sticks, Hall-effect triggers with two-stage stops, four additional inputs, wireless Xbox connectivity and a charging dock give it capabilities normally associated with more expensive pads. It is not a replacement for the Xbox Elite Series 2 if you require swappable thumbsticks or a modular paddle system, and its revised button layout takes practice.
Price, release and compatibility
Wccftech lists the Ultimate 3 as released in August 2026 with a $99.99 MSRP. GamesRadar reports the same $99.99 price and a £79.99 UK price at Amazon, while confirming official Xbox licensing. Retail stock and pricing can change, so check the current listing before buying.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The controller works with Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, Windows PC, Android and iOS. It connects over 2.4GHz wireless, Bluetooth or USB-C. Unlike the separately reviewed Ultimate 3-mode model, this Ultimate 3 supports 2.4GHz wireless directly on Xbox. The 3-mode version is wired-only on Xbox, reserves wireless modes for PC, Android and iOS, and lacks physical trigger stops and tactile microswitch buttons; do not treat the two products as the same controller.
What makes the Ultimate 3 different
Adjustable-force TMR sticks
The thumbsticks use TMR (tunnel magnetoresistance) magnetic sensors and adjustable Force Rings. You can change the resistance of each stick mechanically rather than accepting one fixed tension. TMR sensing avoids the physical contact used by conventional potentiometers, while the adjustable rings let you favor lighter movement for aiming or firmer resistance for control. The supplied specifications do not establish a guaranteed drift-free lifespan, so magnetic sensing should not be interpreted as an unconditional durability promise.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Hall-effect triggers with two-stage stops
Both triggers use Hall-effect sensing and have dual-stage trigger stops. Full travel remains available when analogue throttle or acceleration matters; the shorter stop setting can reduce the distance needed for repeated shots. GamesRadar describes the stops as two-way, and Wccftech lists dual-stage trigger stops.
Four extra controls
Two L4/R4 fast-bumper buttons sit alongside the normal shoulder controls, and two programmable buttons are positioned on the rear. Those four inputs can keep sprint, jump, reload or ability commands under your fingers without removing your thumbs from the sticks. Their placement also changes the learning curve, especially for players accustomed to the Elite layout.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Controls, layout and software
The Ultimate 3 uses a redesigned disc-shaped D-pad. The View and Menu buttons are positioned differently from Microsoft’s familiar Xbox arrangement, and the added shoulder and rear buttons create a denser control scheme. Expect an adjustment period rather than instant muscle memory; this is the main usability trade-off reported alongside the controller’s extra functionality.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchPC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 118BitDo’s Ultimate Software provides button mapping, stick and trigger sensitivity adjustment, vibration control, saved profiles and firmware updates. The company’s documentation describes it as giving control over every part of the controller. No specific number of profile slots or whether every software setting is available on every platform is stated in the supplied documentation, so those details should be confirmed in the current app.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Wireless operation and PC-only features
On Xbox, use the included 2.4GHz wireless connection, USB-C cable or a compatible Bluetooth mode where supported by the platform. The product listing identifies 2.4GHz wireless as the Xbox-capable low-latency option. Windows PC also gains up to 1000Hz polling, while 6-axis motion control is available in PC/2.4GHz mode. Those are PC-focused benefits, not features to expect from an Xbox console session.
Battery and charging
A 1000mAh rechargeable battery is rated for up to 20 hours. “Up to” is a manufacturer-style maximum rather than a guaranteed runtime under every game, vibration setting or wireless mode. The included wireless charging dock provides a dedicated place to park the controller between sessions; USB-C charging remains available.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Ultimate 3 versus Xbox Elite Series 2
| Category | 8BitDo Ultimate 3 | Xbox Elite Series 2 |
|---|---|---|
| Price evidence | $99.99 MSRP; $99.99/£79.99 Amazon figures reported by GamesRadar in 2026 | Current price not stated in the supplied evidence |
| Xbox wireless | 2.4GHz wireless, plus Bluetooth and USB-C | Established Xbox wireless ecosystem; exact comparison configuration not stated |
| Stick technology | TMR magnetic sensors with adjustable Force Rings | Swappable-stick system; sensor type not stated here |
| Triggers | Hall-effect sensing with dual-stage stops | Adjustable trigger locks; sensor type not stated here |
| Extra inputs | Two L4/R4 bumpers and two rear programmable buttons | Modular rear paddles |
| Swappable parts | No swappable thumbsticks or modular paddle system | Swappable thumbsticks and removable paddles |
| Charging | Wireless charging dock included; 1000mAh battery rated up to 20 hours | Charging accessories and runtime details not stated in the supplied evidence |
| PC features | Up to 1000Hz polling and 6-axis motion control in PC/2.4GHz mode | Not stated in the supplied evidence |
| Layout | Revised View/Menu placement and added controls require adjustment | Microsoft’s established Xbox layout |
The choice therefore depends on what “premium” means to you. The Ultimate 3 puts modern magnetic sensing, adjustable stick force, four extra inputs and a dock into a $99.99 package. The Elite Series 2 remains the safer choice for players who already rely on Microsoft’s button positions, interchangeable thumbsticks or a true paddle system.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Who should buy the Ultimate 3?
- Buy it for Xbox if you want 2.4GHz wireless, Hall-effect triggers, adjustable-force sticks, extra remappable controls and a dock at $99.99.
- Buy it for PC if 1000Hz polling, motion control and multi-platform flexibility matter alongside the same premium controls.
- Choose the Elite Series 2 instead if swappable sticks, modular paddles or Microsoft’s familiar control layout are non-negotiable.
- Look carefully at the model name before ordering: the Ultimate 3-mode controller has different Xbox wireless and trigger-stop behavior.
Bottom line
The 8BitDo Ultimate 3 earns its “worthy Elite Series 2 alternative” label by concentrating the features many competitive players actually feel—adjustable TMR sticks, Hall-effect trigger stops, four additional buttons and convenient charging—at $99.99. Its missing modular parts and unfamiliar layout are real compromises, but for Xbox and PC buyers who prioritize sensor technology and value over Microsoft’s interchangeable hardware, it is a compelling premium option.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

