FREEDOM251

Freedom251 › Writing Apps

Write.as

by Write.as

Free plan Self-hosted

Visit Write.as Alternatives Pricing

Write.as's own site

What Write.as is

Write.as is a publishing service for creating blogs and posts, with Markdown and Rich Text editing. It saves writing automatically in the browser. Readers can access posts in browsers, by email or RSS, on e-readers, and through Mastodon. Write.as and its reader experiences are ad-free.

The Free plan includes one personal blog and allows three posts per day; it is listed as closed for now. Pro supports up to three blogs on Write.as or a custom domain, with unlimited posts. Pro costs $6 a month billed yearly or $9 a month billed monthly. Team supports collaborative editing, roles, and up to five team members; it costs $25 a month billed yearly or $30 a month billed monthly. A 14-day trial is listed, and Enterprise offers custom plans for large customers.

Publishing tools include scheduled posts, built-in memberships, blog analytics, and custom-code theme options. Write.as supports RSS, ActivityPub federation, Web Monetization, APIs, email, and command-line publishing. Users can export their work or self-host with WriteFreely, the open source software that powers Write.as. The company says it does not track users or gather excessive data. Write.as has been founder-owned and operated since 2015 in New York City.

Who it suits

Write.as suits people who want to publish blogs and posts with Markdown or Rich Text, and readers who want several ways to follow posts. Pro fits individual publishers who need multiple blogs or unlimited posts, while Team adds collaborative editing, roles, and access for up to five members.

What it does well

  • Markdown and Rich Text editing are available.
  • Writing saves automatically in the browser.
  • Readers can access posts through email, RSS, e-readers, and Mastodon.
  • Pro supports custom domains and unlimited posts.
  • Users can export work or self-host with WriteFreely.

What to know first

  • The Free plan is listed as closed for now.
  • The Free plan allows only three posts per day.
  • Team is limited to five members.

Limits

The Free plan includes one personal blog and allows three posts per day, and it is listed as closed for now. Pro allows up to three blogs; Team supports up to five members. The 14-day trial is listed for the service.

Plans

PlanBilled and limitsPrice
FreeAlways · 1 personal blog · 3–15 posts per day · Unlimited views per monthFree
ProBilled yearly · 3 personal blogs · Unlimited posts · 1–500 newsletter subscribers$6 a month
TeamBilled yearly · 1 collaborative blog · 1–5 team members · Unlimited posts · 500+ newsletter subscribers$25 a month
EnterpriseUnlimited team members · Unlimited team blogsOn request
Team Annualbilled annually at $25 per month$25 a month
Team Monthlybilled monthly at $30 per month$30 a month
Pro Annualbilled annually at $6 per month$6 a month
Pro Monthlybilled monthly at $9 per month$9 a month

As write.as lists them, read 28 Sept 2026. The maker's own page has the final word.

Getting started

  1. Visit the Write.as website.
  2. Choose a plan; the Free plan is listed as closed for now.
  3. Use the listed 14-day trial.
  4. Write in Markdown or the Rich Text editor.
  5. Publish to Write.as or use a custom domain with Pro.

Verdict

Choose Write.as if you want ad-free publishing with multiple reading channels, post scheduling, and options to export or self-host. Pro suits individual publishers needing up to three blogs, while Team is the better fit for collaborative editing; the Free plan is listed as closed for now.

Questions

How much does Write.as cost?

Pro costs $6 a month billed yearly or $9 a month billed monthly. Team costs $25 a month billed yearly or $30 a month billed monthly. Enterprise pricing is custom.

Is there a free plan or trial?

Yes. The Free plan includes one personal blog and three posts per day, though it is listed as closed for now. A 14-day trial is also listed.

Can I use a custom domain?

Yes. Pro supports blogs on a user's own domain.

Can teams collaborate?

Yes. Team includes asynchronous collaborative editing, team access, roles, and up to five team members.

Is Write.as open source?

Write.as users can self-host with WriteFreely, the open source software powering Write.as.

Who makes Write.as, and where is it based?

Write.as is founder-owned and operated by Write.as. The maker is based in New York City and has operated since 2015.

Facts from Write.as's own pages

Ad-free publishing
Write.as and reader experiences are ad-free. · write.as, 28 Sept 2026
Author limit
1 · write.as, 22 Sept 2026
Automatic saving
Work is automatically saved to the browser while users write. · write.as, 28 Sept 2026
Blog analytics
Yes · write.as, 22 Sept 2026
Built-in memberships
Yes · write.as, 22 Sept 2026
Cancellation policy
After cancellation, users downgrade to Free and paid features are disabled, while writing remains online. · write.as, 28 Sept 2026
Company history
Write.as is founder-owned and operated since 2015 and made in NYC. · write.as, 28 Sept 2026
Custom domain
Yes · write.as, 22 Sept 2026
Editor options
Users can write in Markdown or use the Rich Text editor. · write.as, 28 Sept 2026
Encryption certifications
The page does not state encryption details or security certifications. · write.as, 28 Sept 2026
Export and hosting
Users can export their work or self-host with WriteFreely, the open source software powering Write.as. · write.as, 28 Sept 2026
Founded
2015 · write.as, 28 Sept 2026
Free plan
Yes · write.as, 22 Sept 2026
Free plan limit
The Free plan includes one personal blog and allows three posts per day. · write.as, 28 Sept 2026
Free trial
Pro has a 14-day free trial, while Team has a 30-day free trial. · write.as, 28 Sept 2026
Headquarters
New York City, United States · write.as, 28 Sept 2026
Platform integrations
Write.as supports RSS, ActivityPub federation, Web Monetization, APIs, email, and command-line publishing. · write.as, 28 Sept 2026
Privacy approach
Write.as says it does not track users or gather excessive data. · write.as, 28 Sept 2026
Pro blog limit
Pro supports up to three blogs on Write.as or a user's own domain. · write.as, 28 Sept 2026
Refund policy
The page does not state a refund policy. · write.as, 28 Sept 2026
Post scheduling
Yes · write.as, 22 Sept 2026
Reading channels
Readers can access posts in browsers, by email or RSS, on e-readers, and through Mastodon. · write.as, 28 Sept 2026
Paid from
6 · write.as, 22 Sept 2026
Team collaboration
Team includes asynchronous collaborative editing, team access, roles, and five team members. · write.as, 28 Sept 2026

Where Write.as stands on Freedom251

Look at these too