The Noun Project

What The Noun Project is
The Noun Project is a searchable library of nearly 10 million human-made icons and stock photos for creative work. Icons are available as PNG and SVG, and its Mac app also offers PDF export. The Figma plugin provides AI-enhanced search, style matching, and filters for solid or line icons and line weight. Free plugin access includes unlimited PNG icons up to 512 by 512 pixels, with attribution; Pro unlocks SVGs and customization. Integrations include Microsoft PowerPoint and Word, Figma, Adobe Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign, Google Slides and Docs, and Mac workflows. Developers can access the icon collection through a REST API. Paid downloads include royalty-free commercial licenses, while free-account downloads do not include that paid license benefit. Noun Pro is listed at $3.33 a year, paid yearly. A 30-day Icon API trial is also listed, with pricing beyond the trial not stated. The Mac app requires macOS Mojave 10.14.6 or higher and includes 100 starter icons.
Who it suits
It suits designers and other creators looking for icons or stock photos, including people working in supported design and office tools. Developers can also consider the REST API for incorporating the icon collection into software.
What it does well
- Searchable library has nearly 10 million icons and photos.
- Icons are available as PNG and SVG.
- Figma plugin includes search and style-matching tools.
- Paid downloads include royalty-free commercial licenses.
What to know first
- Free-account downloads do not include the paid commercial license benefit.
- Free Figma plugin PNGs require attribution.
- The Mac app requires macOS Mojave 10.14.6 or higher.
Plans
| Plan | Billed and limits | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Free account | PNG and SVG downloads · commercial licenses not included · attribution required for free-use icons | Free |
| Icon API trial | 30-day free trial · API access to the icon collection; pricing beyond the trial is not stated on the page | Free |
| Noun Pro | $39.96 per year (= $3.33/month, billed annually) · Unlimited PNG and SVG icon downloads · royalty-free commercial licenses · no attribution · plugins and editor · icon sets and photos add-on | $39.96 a year |
| Noun Team | $80.04 per year (= $6.67/month, billed annually) · Noun Pro benefits · additional seats $3.33/mo per seat · consolidated billing · priority support · discounts for teams of 10+ | $80.04 a year |
| Noun Studio credit pack | Pack of 900 credits; about 45 edits/gens · Custom icon edits and generation · royalty-free commercial licenses · Pro subscribers save 10% and get free SVG conversion | $8.99, paid once |
As thenounproject.com lists them, read 30 Sept 2026. The maker's own page has the final word.
The Noun Project is a searchable library of nearly 10 million human-made icons and stock photos, aimed at designers, content creators, and software teams needing visual assets. Its breadth and app connections are real advantages; the key trade-off is that free downloads require attribution and do not carry the paid commercial license.
Overview
Multiple icon styles, PNG and SVG downloads, and access through creative-app plugins make The Noun Project a flexible source for visual work. It is a stronger fit for people who need a broad catalog or want assets inside familiar tools than for teams seeking a tightly scoped, free-only icon set.
Key features
The Figma plugin combines AI-enhanced search with style matching and filters for solid or line icons and line weight. Those controls help users narrow a large collection to a consistent look. Free plugin access includes unlimited PNG icons up to 512 by 512 pixels, but attribution is required; SVG downloads and customization require Pro.
Integrations include PowerPoint and Word, Figma, Adobe Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign, Google Slides and Docs, and Mac workflows. This range keeps asset access near many common creative tasks. The Office add-in requires Microsoft Office 365 on PC, Mac, or web. The Mac app requires macOS Mojave 10.14.6 or higher and includes 100 starter icons; it also supports PDF export.
Software products can use the Icon API for REST access to the collection, with the service described for growth-stage and enterprise clients. Its trial provides API access for 30 days, but the ongoing API price is custom pricing. Noun Studio supports custom icon edits and generation. Edited or generated images remain private to the account, and creators earn royalties when their icon is used as a reference for a downloaded generated icon.
Pricing
The Free account costs nothing and permits PNG and SVG downloads, but free-use icons require attribution and do not include the paid royalty-free commercial license. That makes it suitable for exploration or work where attribution and licensing terms fit, but less convenient for commercial projects that need the paid license benefit.
The Icon API trial costs nothing for a billed 30-day free trial, with API access to the icon collection. For continued product integration, expect custom pricing beyond the trial.
The Noun Studio credit pack costs $8.99, paid once for 900 credits, described as about 45 edits or generations. It includes custom icon edits and generation with royalty-free commercial licenses. Pro subscribers save 10% and get free SVG conversion, so occasional Studio users can buy credits without a subscription, while recurring users may prefer Pro.
Noun Pro costs $39.96 a year, billed annually at $39.96 per year (= $3.33/month, billed annually). It includes unlimited PNG and SVG icon downloads, royalty-free commercial licenses, no attribution, plugins and editor, and an icon sets and photos add-on. It is the clearest fit for individual creators who download regularly; the free account gives up the paid license and attribution-free use.
Noun Team costs $80.04 a year, billed annually at $80.04 per year (= $6.67/month, billed annually). It includes Pro benefits, consolidated billing, priority support, and discounts for teams of 10 or more; additional seats cost $3.33/mo per seat. Teams needing shared billing and support have a reason to step up, while solo users do not gain those team-specific benefits.
Platforms
The Noun Project supports API, macOS, web, and Windows. Its integrations span several design, office, and document tools, though the Mac and Office requirements may rule out some environments.
Who it's for
Choose it if you need a large, searchable collection across creative applications, or if your software product needs icon access through an API. It is less suited to users who want an attribution-free commercial license without paying, or who only need a small library of fixed symbols.
Pros and cons
- Pro: Nearly 10 million icons and stock photos provide breadth for varied creative needs.
- Pro: Plugins, multiple download formats, and an API support both individual creative workflows and software products.
- Pro: Pro bundles unlimited downloads, commercial licenses, and no attribution for users who rely on icons regularly.
- Con: Free-use icons require attribution and lack the paid commercial-license benefit, adding a meaningful constraint for commercial work.
- Con: Office and Mac integrations have specific platform requirements, which can limit access on older systems or without Office 365.
- Con: API costs after the 30-day trial are custom pricing, so product teams cannot assess ongoing cost from a fixed published rate.
Alternatives
Font Awesome is worth considering when its free tier of 2,163 icons, one kit, and 10,000 pageviews suits the project better than a broader stock-photo-and-icon library.
Eva Icons is a free option for users who want a focused set of 480+ icons under an MIT license across Android, iOS, and web.
Hugeicons may fit teams prioritizing a free set of 6,000+ Stroke Rounded icons with design and development plugins across Android, iOS, and web.
Material Design Icons is a free, open-source choice for Android, web, and Windows projects that can use an Apache 2.0-licensed library without brand and logo icons.
Material Symbols suits projects seeking over 2,500 glyphs in SVG, PNG, and font formats under Apache License 2.0, with Android, API, iOS, self-hosted, and web platforms.
Tabler Icons is an alternative for developers who prefer source code and 6,200+ SVG icons under an MIT license, with free updates and community support.
Boxicons is another option for web projects; its Pro plan costs $39 a year and includes pro icons, web fonts, and personal and commercial projects.
Bootstrap Icons offers a free set of over 2,000 icons in SVG, SVG sprite, or web-font formats, usable with or without Bootstrap.
Browse more options in Icon Libraries.
Verdict
The Noun Project is a strong choice for designers and software teams that value a broad asset collection, in-app access, or an API. Pro is the practical route for regular commercial downloads because it combines unlimited formats with royalty-free commercial licenses and no attribution. Look elsewhere if a smaller open-source set meets your needs, or if you need API pricing that is fixed and public.
Verdict
The Noun Project offers a large searchable collection alongside plugins, app integrations, and an API. Check the licensing and attribution terms that apply to your account and intended downloads.
Facts from The Noun Project's own pages
- API
- The Icon API gives software products access to the icon collection through a REST API and is described as scalable for growth-stage and enterprise clients. · thenounproject.com, 30 Sept 2026
- Creator compensation
- Noun Studio says creators earn royalties when their icon is used as a reference for a downloaded generated icon. · thenounproject.com, 30 Sept 2026
- Founded
- 2011 · thenounproject.com, 23 Sept 2026
- Free plugin limits
- The Figma plugin's free access includes unlimited PNG icons up to 512 by 512 pixels, with attribution required; Pro unlocks SVGs and customization. · thenounproject.com, 30 Sept 2026
- Icon formats
- Icons are available as PNG and SVG, and the Mac app also offers PDF export. · thenounproject.com, 30 Sept 2026
- Integrations
- Apps and plugins are listed for Microsoft PowerPoint and Word, Figma, Adobe Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign, Google Slides and Docs, and Mac workflows. · thenounproject.com, 30 Sept 2026
- Licensing
- The pricing page says paid Noun Project downloads include royalty-free commercial licenses, while free-account downloads do not include that paid license benefit. · thenounproject.com, 30 Sept 2026
- Mac requirement
- The Mac app requires macOS Mojave 10.14.6 or higher and includes 100 starter icons. · thenounproject.com, 30 Sept 2026
- Noun Studio privacy
- Images edited or generated with Noun Studio remain private to the account and are not added to the public icon collection. · thenounproject.com, 30 Sept 2026
- Office requirement
- The PowerPoint and Word add-in requires Microsoft Office 365 for PC, Mac, or web. · thenounproject.com, 30 Sept 2026
- Product
- The Noun Project provides a searchable library of nearly 10 million human-made icons and stock photos for creative work. · thenounproject.com, 30 Sept 2026
- Search and editing
- Its Figma plugin offers AI-enhanced search, style matching, and filters for solid or line icons and line weight. · thenounproject.com, 30 Sept 2026
- Support
- Noun Team includes priority support, and the site links to a customer support center where users can submit a request. · thenounproject.com, 30 Sept 2026
Where The Noun Project stands on Freedom251
- Icon Libraries#27 of 46
