The 2016 LG K7 is an entry-level phone, but “LG K7” refers to more than one configuration. LG announced LTE and 3G versions, and specifications vary by region. The US LTE model, for example, has a different chipset, camera and battery specification from some 3G listings. Treat the figures below as variant-specific rather than a single universal spec sheet.
What is the LG K7?
LG introduced the K7 with the K10 at CES 2016, presenting the K Series as a mass-tier line that brought design and interface ideas from its higher-end phones to more affordable models. The launch announcement highlighted curved 2.5D Arc Glass, a “glossy pebble” design, a textured rear, gesture selfies and a screen-based light for the front camera. Those are LG’s design and feature descriptions, not independent findings about build quality or image results. LG’s January 4, 2016 announcement quotes Juno Cho, then president and CEO of LG Electronics Mobile Communications Company, describing the line as an effort to apply the company’s technology and design across smartphone categories.
This review concerns the 2016 LG K7. It is not the separately listed LG K7 (2017), model LGX230, which LG Russia lists with Android 6.0.1 Marshmallow and a 2,500 mAh battery. That regional page labels the 2017 model discontinued; it does not establish global availability or support status. LG Russia’s K7 (2017) listing identifies that model separately.
LG K7 specifications vary by region
LG’s global launch table describes multiple combinations, while regional product documents provide more specific examples. The table keeps those versions distinct; it should not be read as a promise that every listed component can be found together in one phone.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
#1 Best Overall
- Unlocked for GSM Carriers such as: T-Mobile and AT&T | Will NOT work with CDMA carriers: Sprint and Verizon
- 6.5" HD+ FullVision, Narrow Notch Display
- Easy-to-use Rear Triple Camera System
- 13MP PDAF Standard Angle Rear Camera | 5MP Super Wide 115° Rear Camera | 2MP Depth Camera
| Specification | LG global launch information | US LTE model | Germany listing | Russia 3G release |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Display | 5 inches, FWVGA (854 × 480); In-cell touch for LTE and On-cell for 3G | 5 inches, FWVGA (854 × 480) | 5 inches, FWVGA (854 × 480), IPS LCD | 5 inches, FWVGA (854 × 480) |
| Processor | LTE: 1.1 GHz quad-core; 3G: 1.3 GHz quad-core | 1.1 GHz quad-core Qualcomm Snapdragon 210 | 1.3 GHz quad-core MediaTek MT6580M | 1.3 GHz quad-core |
| Rear / front camera | Rear: 8 MP or 5 MP; front: 5 MP | 5 MP / 5 MP | 5 MP main camera; front-camera resolution not stated on the cited product page | 8 MP / 5 MP |
| RAM / internal storage | 1 GB or 1.5 GB RAM; 8 GB or 16 GB storage, depending on market | 1.5 GB / 8 GB; LG lists 4.04 GB usable | 1 GB / 8 GB | 1 GB / 8 GB |
| microSD | Not stated in the global launch table | Up to 32 GB | Up to 32 GB | Not stated in the cited release |
| Battery | 2,125 mAh | 2,045 mAh, removable | 2,125 mAh, removable | Not stated in the cited release |
| Operating system at launch | Android 5.1 Lollipop | Android 5.1 Lollipop | Not stated on the cited product page | Android 5.1 Lollipop |
| Network detail | LTE and 3G versions announced | LTE bands 2, 4 and 12 | Not stated on the cited product page | 3G version described |
| Dimensions | LTE: 143.6 × 72.5 × 8.9 mm; 3G: 143.6 × 72.5 × 9.05 mm | 5.65 × 2.85 × 0.35 inches | Not stated on the cited product page | Not stated in the cited release |
Sources for the table: LG global launch announcement, LG Russia’s 2016 K7 3G release, LG Germany’s K7 product page, and the LG-authored US K7 specification sheet hosted by B&H. The sheet attributes its specifications to LG Electronics MobileComm U.S.A., Inc.
What the specifications mean in everyday use
The display is low-resolution by modern standards
The documented panel is 5 inches with 854 × 480 pixels. That establishes the size and resolution, not brightness, color accuracy, viewing angles or overall image quality; no measured display tests are available here. LG also described different touch technologies for LTE and 3G in its global launch material, so it is unsafe to assume every K7 has the same panel construction.
Rank #2
- 6.8" FHD+ FullVision Display
- Built-In Stylus Pen
- Triple Camera System
- 4,000 mAh Battery
- 3 GB RAM / 64 GB ROM / expandable microSD
Memory and storage are limited
Depending on market, LG listed 1 GB or 1.5 GB of RAM and 8 GB or 16 GB of internal storage. The US LTE sheet specifies 8 GB total, of which LG says 4.04 GB is usable. That distinction matters on a used phone: the advertised capacity is not the same as free space available for apps and files. The US and German documentation lists microSD support up to 32 GB; check the exact regional handset before relying on that limit.
Camera resolution is not a quality rating
The rear camera is listed as either 5 MP or 8 MP depending on configuration, with a 5 MP front camera in LG’s global overview. The US LTE sheet and German product page specify a 5 MP main camera, while LG Russia’s 3G release lists 8 MP on the rear and 5 MP on the front. Gesture Shot and a screen-based front-camera light are among the documented features, but resolution and feature lists do not establish how good photos look.
Rank #3
- CONDITION: Renewed phone which means they may have signs of previous use.
- PACKAGING: Phone comes in a brown generic box, with a data cable, charging adapter and sim pin tool. No other accessories are included
- CARRIER: The phone is locked to T-Mobile only. Enjoy nations fast 5G capability from T-Mobile
Battery figures differ, and LG’s runtime numbers are estimates
LG’s global announcement and German listing give 2,125 mAh; the US LTE sheet gives 2,045 mAh and describes a removable battery. The US sheet also estimates up to 11 hours 10 minutes of talk time and up to 13 days 14 hours of standby for that model. LG Electronics MobileComm U.S.A., Inc. cautions that actual battery time varies with network connectivity and application use, so these are manufacturer estimates, not independently measured results.
Does the LG K7 support 4G LTE?
Some 2016 K7 variants support LTE and others are 3G models. LG’s US LTE sheet lists bands 2, 4 and 12; LG Russia’s 2016 release describes a 3G version. A phone being called “LG K7” is not enough to establish its network capability, and those historic specifications do not verify whether a particular handset will work on a carrier today.
For a used phone, match its exact model number and region to the carrier’s current requirements before purchase. Do not assume that a US band list applies to an imported 3G model or to a different LTE variant.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Is the LG K7 still worth buying?
It may suit someone who needs an inexpensive legacy handset for a limited, verified purpose, but the available specifications alone cannot establish that a particular used K7 is a practical everyday phone now. Its documented launch software is Android 5.1 Lollipop; that does not establish current security updates, compatibility with specific apps, carrier service or present-day performance. No independent benchmark, battery test or current network audit is available in the cited material.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Best Value
- 6.4 inch QHD+ OLED Display (3120 x 1440, including notch); 538 ppi
- Qualcomm Snapdragon 855 Octa-core
- 5-Camera Phone (Triple Rear and Dual Front)
- Internal Memory : 128GB. MicroSD Supports card up to 2 TB (cards sold separately) . RAM : 6GB
- Locked for Verizon Carrier
Before paying, check the individual device rather than relying on the family name:
- Read the rear label or system information for the exact model number and identify the region and LTE or 3G variant.
- Verify that the model’s network bands meet the carrier’s current requirements for your location.
- Confirm the RAM, storage and camera configuration against the regional specification; on the US 8 GB model, LG lists 4.04 GB as usable.
- Test battery condition, charging and basic operation in person where possible. The documented removable battery does not establish that an appropriate replacement is currently available.
- If you need extra storage, confirm that the specific handset supports the card capacity you plan to use; LG’s US and German materials list microSD up to 32 GB.
The cited product documents do not establish fair used-market pricing, the condition of any particular phone, current carrier compatibility or replacement-part stock. Those need to be checked for the individual listing and location.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




