Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
MEGO 2.0 is a portable, rechargeable breadboard power supply, not a miniature bench supply. EIM Technology specifies an adjustable 4–24 V output, a fixed 5 V USB output, USB-C charging, overload and short-circuit protection, and a 6 W maximum output. Its major change from the original MEGO is an embedded Raspberry Pi RP2040 microcontroller. That makes the product potentially more capable, but EIM’s public documentation does not yet show a user firmware workflow, exposed programming connector, or Pico-compatible pinout.
What MEGO 2.0 is designed to solve
Most breadboard power modules are inexpensive fixed-voltage boards. They normally provide selectable 3.3 V and 5 V rails, but require a USB cable, wall adapter, or separate battery. They also tend to lack a display and a self-contained enclosure.
MEGO 2.0 combines those functions in a board intended to plug directly into a standard breadboard. You can run it from its internal rechargeable battery, set an adjustable rail anywhere in EIM’s stated 4–24 V range, see the selected voltage on the display, and use a separate fixed 5 V USB output for auxiliary loads. EIM positions it for education, prototyping, and portable demonstrations. See EIM’s technical documentation and product page.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
MEGO 2.0 specifications
The following are EIM’s published figures. Efficiency, display accuracy, ripple, temperature, weight, and dimensions are manufacturer specifications rather than independent measurements.
#1 Best Overall
- Broad Compatibility: "One-Stop Breadboard Power Solution" - BreadVolt Compatible with Arduino, Raspberry Pi, ESP32, Pico W, etc. BreadVolt offers 5V/1.5A and 3.3V/1A power outputs, suitable for a variety of electronic projects
- Portable Power: "Power Anytime, Anywhere" Allowing you to continue experimenting, creating, and showcasing projects even in environments without power outlets
- High Stability and Reliability: "Precisely Stable Power Output" - Provides 5V and 3.3V outputs adjustable via jumper caps, ensuring stable operation of your electronic projects
- Ease of Use: "Beginner-Friendly Interface" - Simple to operate with an on/off switch. Compact size of only 52mm x 32mm x 24mm, easy to install and use, ideal for education and self-learning
- Multifunctionality and Expandability: "Versatile Functions, Wide Applications" - Includes two independent channels and a USB output, suitable for IoT, robotics, and a diverse range of projects
| Specification | MEGO 2.0 |
|---|---|
| Adjustable output | 4–24 V |
| Maximum output power | 6 W |
| Fixed USB output | 5 V |
| Battery capacity | 7.4 Wh |
| Conversion efficiency | 80% at 5 V output |
| Voltage-display accuracy | 2% |
| Ripple voltage | 1% (EIM’s stated specification; measurement conditions are not fully detailed) |
| Protection | Overload and short circuit |
| Operating temperature | −15 to 45 °C |
| PCB size | 65 × 52 mm |
| Height | 28 mm |
| Weight | Approximately 100 g (3.5 oz) |
| Charging connector | USB-C |
EIM also advertises up to 10 hours of continuous operation. That is a marketing claim with no published load, output-voltage, or test-condition details, so it should not be treated as a general runtime guarantee.
Why the RP2040 matters—and what it does not prove
The original MEGO listed no microcontroller. MEGO 2.0 adds Raspberry Pi’s dual-core Arm Cortex-M0+ RP2040 to an all-in-one PCB. In principle, an onboard microcontroller could manage the display, monitor battery or output conditions, control a converter, log measurements, or support programmable behavior.
EIM describes the RP2040 addition as opening programmable features. However, the public MEGO documentation does not clearly identify an accessible USB bootloader, programming connector, exposed GPIO, firmware repository, API, SDK instructions, downloadable firmware, or user examples. It also does not establish whether the USB-C connector is connected to the RP2040’s USB interface or is used only for charging.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →The correct expectation is therefore “RP2040-equipped and potentially programmable,” not “a Raspberry Pi Pico replacement.” The RP2040 documentation explains the chip itself, but cannot confirm which pins or peripherals EIM exposes on MEGO 2.0.
Rank #2
- 【3.3V/5V SWITCHABLE OUTPUT】Toggle between 3.3V and 5V with a slide switch, up to 500mA per module (PPTC protected) — for powering Raspberry Pi, Pico W, ESP32, and other microcontrollers without extra adapters.
- 【BUILT-IN SAFETY PROTECTION】PPTC resettable fuses limit current to 500mA per module to help prevent overloads and short circuits — suitable for beginners and experienced makers working on STEM projects.
- 【USB TYPE-C CONNECTIVITY】USB Type-C input (5V DC) for power from laptops, power banks, or USB hubs — reduces wiring for portable prototyping setups.
- 【LED POWER INDICATORS】Dual LEDs (red for 5V, blue for 3.3V) show active voltage status for safe operation and quick troubleshooting during DIY builds.
- 【COMPACT 3-PACK, FOR LOW-POWER LOADS】Plugs directly into standard solderless breadboard power rails. Suitable for logic circuits, sensors, displays, and single dev boards (up to 500mA). For high-current loads like motors or large LED arrays, use a dedicated supply. Pack of 3. Note orientation to avoid reversed polarity.
MEGO 2.0 versus the original MEGO
| Feature | Original MEGO | MEGO 2.0 |
|---|---|---|
| Microcontroller | None listed | Raspberry Pi RP2040 |
| PCB construction | Assembled modules | All-in-one PCB |
| Height | 32 mm | 28 mm |
| Adjustable output | 4–24 V | 4–24 V |
| Maximum power | 6 W | 6 W |
| Battery | 7.4 Wh; older documentation describes 2000 mAh at 3.7 V | 7.4 Wh in current technical documentation |
| Charging | Check original documentation separately | USB-C advertised by EIM |
| Protection | Overload and short circuit | Overload and short circuit |
EIM introduced the original MEGO in 2018 and marked it for retirement by 2024, with MEGO 2.0 as its successor. The new model is shorter and integrates the electronics, but its headline voltage and power ratings remain the same. Details are in EIM’s retirement notice.
Understanding the 6 W limit
Power is voltage multiplied by current. A 6 W ceiling corresponds arithmetically to:
- 1.2 A at 5 V
- About 0.67 A at 9 V
- 0.5 A at 12 V
- 0.25 A at 24 V
These are calculated equivalents, not guaranteed continuous-current ratings. EIM does not publish a complete current-versus-voltage curve or transient-response specification. Converter losses, temperature, battery condition, and protection thresholds affect what the board can sustain.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
That makes MEGO 2.0 suitable for logic circuits, sensors, small displays, low-power microcontrollers, and LEDs operated at appropriate current. Small motors or servos may work only when their startup and stall currents remain within the supply’s limits. High-current motors, large LED strips, heaters, power amplifiers, substantial single-board-computer peripherals, and other loads with large surges are poor matches.
Rank #3
- Breadboard power module: the module is designed for the convenience of experiments on the breadboard, onboard 3.3V, 5V DC output pin charging mode.
- Improved Charging Modes: You can use USB-C to directly charge the module and power the breadboard, or insert the rechargeable batteries into the battery slot of the module.
- Power display: there are four led lights to show the remaining power, which is convenient for you to check the power and ensure the normal progress of the experiment
- Maximum output current: 2.4A, but considering the module heating problems and life problems, we very recommend you to use under 2A. The output voltage is 3.3V or 5V.
- Application: The power module is widely used in MCU, electronic building blocks, intelligent cars and other power supply extensions. It comes with USB Type-A interface for the power output of external devices, and can also be used as a mobile power supply for other devices.
Stay below 6 W and allow headroom for startup current. A short-circuit safeguard does not make an overload safe for every component or wiring arrangement.
Breadboard connection and output controls
MEGO 2.0 is designed to plug directly into a standard breadboard rather than requiring jumper wires from a separate supply. EIM confirms breadboard fitting, but the available documentation does not fully specify every rail arrangement. Before buying, verify from the board images, schematic, or current manual:
- Which breadboard rails the module occupies.
- Whether one or both sides of the board are powered.
- Whether the rails have fixed polarity.
- Whether the two rails can be set independently.
- How the module aligns with the center gap.
- Whether headers, jumpers, or adapters are included.
EIM describes a small adjustment control for setting the output and a real-time voltage display. This appears to be manual adjustment, not a front-panel digitally programmable laboratory supply. Set the voltage before attaching sensitive parts, then confirm it with a multimeter during the first setup.
What the fixed 5 V USB output can—and cannot—do
The adjustable output is intended for breadboard rails. The separate USB output is fixed at 5 V and is described for auxiliary devices such as microcontrollers and sensors. EIM does not clearly publish its maximum current, charging protocol, or USB Power Delivery support. Treat it as a 5 V auxiliary output, not a fast charger or high-current power bank.
Rank #4
- 9V 1A Power Supply:Input 100V-240V 50/60Hz; Output 9V DC, 1A (1000mA) max.; Works with device that draws less than 1A, such as 0.5A 0.7A 0.9A 1A , with 5.5mm x 2.5mm Plug. DC output port's outer diameter is 5.5mm, inner diameter is 2.5mm Compatible with 2.1mm.
- Breadboard Power Supply Module:Output two road independent control, can switch over to 0 V, 3.3 V, 5 V;Input Voltage: 6.5-9V (DC) or 9V Battery. ;Output Voltage: ~3.3V/~5V;Output Current: 700mA(Max);With 9V battery snap power cable T-type 5.5x2.1mm connector;Fit for: MB-102 Breadboard; Arduino Board Solderless Breadboard etc.
- Alligator clip test leads:11.8-inch(300mm) jumper wire with an alligator clip on one end and female jumpers on the other forArduino, Raspberry Pi, Orange pi, wearable circuit projects or a breadboard experiment.
- Banana Plug:Banana Plug can be diy according to demand combined with the complimentary DuPont wire can be realizedBanana Plug to male or Banana Plug to female test line,Suitable for connecting a wire to breadboard from power supplies, LED strips, multi-meters and Lilypad.
- Package include:1pc 9V 1A Adaptor+1pc Breadboard Power Supply Module+1pc Battery Clip+2pcs Alligator clip test leads(Color random)+2pcs Banana Plug+5 Pin Male to Male DuPont cable+5 Pin Male to Female DuPont cable
“Powered by an RP2040” also does not mean that MEGO 2.0 is a universal supply for Raspberry Pi computers. Raspberry Pi’s official guidance specifies 5.1 V supplies and model-dependent current requirements. Without a published USB-current rating and model-specific validation, do not assume the MEGO USB port can power a particular Raspberry Pi computer, storage device, display, or peripheral stack.
Battery, charging, and runtime
EIM’s current technical page lists a 7.4 Wh battery. The older MEGO documentation describes a 2000 mAh, 3.7 V lithium-polymer battery, while the current product page uses lithium-ion wording. Those descriptions are inconsistent; the exact MEGO 2.0 chemistry should be confirmed with EIM’s current manual or support team rather than stated as settled fact.
USB-C charging is advertised, but the cited product information does not state charging current or time, whether output works while charging, whether the battery is replaceable, what charger is included, or how battery fuel gauging works. These omissions matter if you plan classroom charging, unattended operation, or long-term storage.
The 10-hour figure must also be read alongside the 7.4 Wh capacity. Runtime varies with output voltage, load, conversion efficiency, battery age, and protection behavior. A light sensor circuit may run far longer than a load approaching the 6 W ceiling.
Best Value
- Dual Power Input Versatility: Supports both modern Type-C USB and classic DC 6-12V jack inputs. No more hunting for old cables-power your prototyping projects conveniently using standard phone chargers, power banks, or wall adapters
- Independent Right / Left Channel Control: Features independent power switches and 3.3V/5V toggle switches for both the left and right rails. You can power one side at 3.3V and the other at 5V simultaneously, or turn off one side completely without affecting the other. Output: 5V-2A / 3.3V-1A
- Breadboard Compatible Design: Specially designed to plug securely into standard MB102 solderless breadboards. The concave design ensures it sits flush on the board, saving precious tie-points and keeping your workspace neat
- Reliable Circuit Protection: Equipped with onboard short-circuit and over-current protection. If an accidental short occurs during wiring, the module safely cuts or limits power to protect your expensive microcontrollers and sensors
- Versatile Application for Makers & Education: A must-have power distribution board for electronics hobbyists, students, and engineers. Suitable for powering Arduino, Raspberry Pi Pico, ESP32, and various DIY prototyping circuits
A safe first-use procedure
- Charge the unit through its USB-C input with a suitable USB power source.
- Turn it off and insert it into the breadboard with the intended positive and ground rails correctly aligned.
- Set the adjustable output to the required voltage before connecting the circuit.
- Measure the rail with a multimeter; do not rely solely on the display when protecting expensive components.
- Connect the circuit and keep its total demand, including startup surges, below the 6 W maximum.
- Use the fixed USB output only after confirming the load’s current requirement is within the unpublished USB rating.
- When finished, turn the supply off. EIM’s original-model guidance recommended reducing the adjustable output to 5 V or less; confirm that advice in the current MEGO 2.0 manual.
Troubleshooting common problems
The breadboard is not powered
- Turn MEGO 2.0 off and check its rail alignment.
- Verify positive and ground orientation.
- Measure the output away from the circuit.
- Look for a shorted rail, reversed IC, or misplaced jumper.
- Recharge the battery if the display or status indicators are inactive.
The output collapses under load
Possible causes include exceeding 6 W, motor or servo startup current, a wiring short, reduced available current at a high voltage setting, or battery/protection limits. Remove the load, inspect the circuit, lower demand, and retest rather than repeatedly resetting a fault.
A component was damaged
Common preventable causes are an output set too high, reversed breadboard rails, a 3.3 V- or 5 V-only component connected without checking, incorrectly combined USB and adjustable-output wiring, or an inductive transient. Measure first and add appropriate flyback protection to motors, relays, and solenoids.
Who should buy MEGO 2.0?
- Students and teachers running portable demonstrations.
- Makers who want a tidy, battery-powered breadboard setup.
- Designers needing adjustable voltage above the usual 3.3 V/5 V choices.
- Users who value an integrated display, USB-C charging, and protection features.
- Experimenters interested in possible RP2040-based expansion, provided they accept the documentation uncertainty.
Who should skip it?
- Anyone needing high current, large surge capacity, or laboratory-grade regulation.
- Users requiring precise current limiting or independently adjustable rails.
- Buyers whose only requirement is inexpensive fixed 3.3 V and 5 V breadboard power.
- Developers specifically seeking a well-documented RP2040 development board with accessible GPIO and firmware tools.
- Anyone needing confirmed pass-through charging, a replaceable battery, or a published USB-current rating.
Alternatives and the price trade-off
EIM listed MEGO 2.0 at $69.99 on sale versus $79.99 regular price when checked. Prices, discounts, tax, shipping, and regional availability can change. The premium pays for integration and portability, not proportionally greater output power.
| Product | Observed price | Published capabilities | Best suited to |
|---|---|---|---|
| DFRobot Breadboard Power Supply 5V/3.3V | $4.55 | 6–12 V barrel or 5 V USB input; selectable 3.3 V/5 V; 500 mA maximum; switch and LED | Lowest-cost fixed-voltage breadboard work |
| SparkFun Breadboard Power Supply Stick | $9.95 | 6–12 V input; selectable 3.3 V/5 V; 800 mA operating current; switch, LED, selector, PTC fuse | Compact documented supply with an external adapter |
| SparkFun Breadboard Power Supply 5V/3.3V | $12.50 | DC wall-adapter powered; selectable 5 V or 3.3 V | Stationary bench or classroom setups |
| DFRobot DC-DC Power Module 25W | $8.50 | 3.6–25 V input; adjustable 3.3–25 V output; stated 25 W/5 A buck design | Higher-power projects where a separate battery or DC source is available |
| Adafruit adjustable breadboard supply | Not stated | Modular adjustable-supply approach | Users willing to assemble a documented ecosystem with separate power components |
Adafruit’s broader power-conversion range can be combined with a battery and charger, but that approach requires more wiring and separate parts. These alternatives generally do not provide MEGO 2.0’s internal battery, 4–24 V adjustment, display, USB-C charging, or embedded RP2040.
Verdict
MEGO 2.0 is compelling when a self-contained rechargeable supply, direct breadboard installation, adjustable voltage, display, and compactness are worth paying for. It is a poor value if you only need fixed 3.3 V or 5 V rails, and it is the wrong tool for high-current or precision bench-supply work. The RP2040 is the most interesting upgrade over the original MEGO, but until EIM publishes MEGO-specific programming and pinout information, treat it as an intriguing embedded feature rather than a guaranteed development platform.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

