Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

For most US flights, choose a power bank clearly marked at 100 Wh or less, pack it in your carry-on, and check the rules of every airline on your itinerary. “Flight-approved” is not a universal product certification: the battery’s watt-hours, how it is packed, and the operating airline’s rules determine whether you can bring it.

Among the options below, the UGREEN Nexode 20,000mAh 130W is the clearest conservative pick because its official listing specifies 72 Wh. For more laptop power, consider the UGREEN 145W 25,000mAh after checking the Wh marking on your unit. The Anker Prime 27,650mAh 250W is the premium high-output option, but its weight, price, and near-limit capacity call for extra scrutiny.

Quick comparison

Power bank Best for Capacity and marked Wh Maximum output and ports Weight Price seen Travel note
Anker Prime 27,650mAh 250W Travelers carrying a laptop and several devices 27,650mAh; verify the Wh printed on the unit Up to 250W total; two USB-C and one USB-A About 665g $179.99 High capacity is close to the 100-Wh threshold; do not rely on the mAh figure alone.
UGREEN 145W 25,000mAh 3-Port Value-oriented laptop charging 25,000mAh; confirm marked Wh Up to 145W; three ports Not specified in the cited listing $69.99 sale / $109.99 regular Check the individual port rating and printed Wh before buying or flying.
UGREEN Nexode 20,000mAh 130W Most travelers who want a clear capacity margin 20,000mAh; 72Wh listed Up to 130W; check port-level output Not specified in the cited listing $59.99 sale / $89.99 regular The stated 72Wh is comfortably below 100Wh.

Manufacturer prices and availability can change; the prices above are those shown in the retrieved official listings, not guaranteed current offers. Output figures are manufacturer maximums, not a promise that one port or every connected device will receive that wattage.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Are power banks allowed on planes?

In the US, the FAA treats a standalone power bank as a spare lithium-ion battery. Under its passenger guidance, batteries from 0 to 100Wh are generally allowed in carry-on baggage. A battery rated 101–160Wh requires airline approval, with a limit of two spare batteries per person. Batteries over 160Wh are not permitted on passenger aircraft. Airlines may set stricter limits, so check the operating carrier, particularly for international or connecting itineraries. See the FAA passenger battery rules.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
INIU 10000mAh 45W Fast Charging Portable Charger, Smaller Travel Power Bank
  • 40% Smaller & Lighter Portable Charger: Powered by the industry’s first TinyCell high-density battery technology, this ultra-compact 10,000mAh portable charger power bank is 40% smaller and 36% lighter than conventional chargers. Whether you are an office user slipping a mini small portable battery into a purse for commuting, or a student looking for lightweight college essentials, you get powerful daily carry convenience without the extra bulk to keep you powered on the go.
  • 45W Pro Speed Portable Phone Charger: This 45W fast charger boosts an iPhone 17 Pro Max to 76%, a Galaxy S25 Ultra to 84%, or an iPad Pro to 60% in just 30 minutes (charging from 20%). Whether you are a driver needing a quick portable charger for car, a commuter relying on a desk phone charger, or a gamer wanting a seamless Switch battery pack and Steam deck charger portable, you will spend less time tethered to a wall and more time enjoying your day.
  • Detachable Cable for Multiple Devices: Unlike a standard portable charger with built in cable that becomes useless if the cord breaks, INIU's 0.4ft detachable braided USB-C cable can be swapped anytime to save your investment. It effortlessly transforms into a versatile travel charger for multiple devices, ensuring your family or group travelers always have a reliable portable charger for all cell phones to keep everyone connected without carrying messy cords.
  • Airline-Safe Travel Essentials: This TSA-compliant, flight safe power bank provides nearly 2 full charges for your smartphone, making it the perfect battery pack flight safe for business trips, cruise vacations, and airplane travel essentials. Beyond flights, it empowers campers, hikers, and outdoor users with ultimate camping essentials and road trip essentials—so you can explore freely without battery anxiety, making it ideal gifts for travelers women and men.
  • Trusted Emergency Backup: As the SAFE Fast Charge Pro trusted by over 38 million users, we ensure the safest charging with the highest-grade materials. When unexpected storms or hurricanes strike, it acts as a lifeline—providing a dependable power outage battery backup and emergency phone charger for emergency users.

Power banks must stay in the cabin, not checked baggage. That remains true if the bank is switched off. If your carry-on is taken at the gate or planeside, remove the power bank and keep it with you. The FAA explains this gate-check precaution.

FAA guidance does not set a general numerical limit for personal-use rechargeable batteries under 100Wh, but that is not a guarantee that every airline will accept any quantity. Check your carrier’s rules, and follow crew instructions about whether you may use or charge a power bank during the flight.

“TSA-approved” is not a blanket certification

Do not treat a product listing’s “TSA-approved” or “flight-approved” wording as permission for every flight. The practical checks are the battery’s marked Wh, cabin-only packing, safe condition, and the applicable airline rules. The FAA’s PackSafe guidance is the key US reference; international carriers may apply their own rules.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
Sale
Orfeika 20000mAh Power Bank, Portable Charger with 4 Built-in Cables
  • 🔋Double the Capacity, JUST 35% HEAVIER: With twice the capacity of standard power banks, this 20,000mAh portable charger with built-in cords powers an iPhone 16 up to 3 times, Galaxy S24 up to 2.9 times, and Google Pixel 9 up to 2.3 times, perfect for weekends away, business trips, or vacations.(Note: This 77Wh power bank complies with airline carry-on regulations for batteries under 100Wh and must be placed in carry-on baggage.)
  • Built-in 4 Cables: Includes 3 output cables and 1 input cable, letting you charge almost all devices—iPhone, iPad, Galaxy, other USB-C phones, tablets, and Micro devices—without carrying extra cords or adapters.
  • Charge 6 Devices at Once: This portable chargers for multiple devices features 6 outputs (3 built-in cables + 3 external ports) and 4 inputs (2 built-in cables + 2 external ports), allowing you to charge up to 6 devices simultaneously. Any input lets you conveniently recharge the USB power bank, while total output adjusts automatically for safe and efficient charging.
  • ⚡20W PD Fast Charging & Dual USB-C: Charge devices at up to 20W via USB-C, delivering an iPhone 16 up to 50% in just 45 mins—much faster than standard 5V/2A chargers, while quickly recharging the USB C portable charger itself at up to 18W—perfect for meetings, travel, or emergencies.
  • Compact, Durable & Powerful: Measuring 6.33 × 2.85 × 0.74 in and weighing 0.73 lb, this 20000mAh portable power bank packs true long-lasting power in a compact design. Its solid weight comes from four built-in cables and the full 20000mAh capacity. Scratch-resistant, fire-retardant shell with fine diagonal texture offers a premium feel and secure grip—perfect for travel or everyday backup.

How to check watt-hours

Watt-hours (Wh) measure stored energy and are the main capacity figure used in air-travel limits. Milliamp-hours (mAh) by itself is not enough: the conversion depends on the battery’s voltage.

Wh = volts × amp-hours
Wh = volts × (mAh ÷ 1,000)

For example, a 20,000mAh battery rated at 3.6V works out to 72Wh: 3.6 × (20,000 ÷ 1,000) = 72. Use the manufacturer’s stated internal battery voltage—not the USB output voltage—and prefer the Wh printed on the power bank when available. The FAA explains the Wh calculation.

Do not assume a 25,000mAh or 27,000mAh bank is automatically under 100Wh. Labels, rounding, and voltage differ. If the rating is near the limit, choose a model with a clearly marked lower Wh value rather than counting on a close call being accepted.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker Power Bank, 20,000mAh Travel Essential, Built-in USB-C Cable(Black)
  • 87W Power to Share: Distribute 87W across three devices, with a single device receiving up to 65W, to rapidly charge iPhones, Samsung phones. Quickly charge a 14" MacBook Pro to 50% in under 40 minutes.
  • Speedy Cable Charging: Utilize the built-in cable to elevate your iPhone 15 Pro to 58% or a MacBook Air to 52% in 30 minutes. You can also fully recharge this power bank in 1.5 hours with a 65W charger.
  • 20,000mAh for Extended Use: Eliminate concerns about battery depletion with a 20,000mAh power bank that ensures consistent, reliable charging for all your devices, also approved for airline travel.
  • Lasts Longer, Charges Faster: The integrated USB-C cable is designed to endure, withstanding over 10,000 bends for dependable charging and convenient storage.
  • What You Get: Anker Power Bank (20K, 87W, Built-In USB-C Cable), 6.2 × 2.9 × 1.0 in (15.5 oz), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

How much capacity and output do you need?

  • 5,000–10,000mAh: A lighter emergency phone top-up for short outings or minimal bags.
  • 10,000–20,000mAh: A practical balance for most phone and tablet travel needs.
  • 20,000–27,650mAh: More stored energy for longer trips and laptop use, usually with a weight and compliance-label trade-off.

These are broad buying categories, not guaranteed recharge counts. A device will receive less energy than the power bank’s advertised capacity because of conversion losses, heat, cable losses, and the device’s own charging behavior.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For output, 20–30W USB-C is generally enough for phones; 30–45W is more useful for tablets. For a USB-C laptop, look for USB Power Delivery (PD) of at least 65W; 100W or more may suit larger laptops. Check the maximum output of the specific port you will use and how power is divided when multiple devices are connected. Total output is not the same as single-port output, and a high wattage number does not ensure compatibility with every laptop.

Capacity, output, and recharge speed are different: Wh describes stored energy, W output describes power delivered to devices, and input W describes how quickly the bank itself can recharge. A fast-recharging bank may also need a suitably powerful wall charger and cable.

Rank #4
Sale
INIU Portable Charger, Smallest 20000mAh 22.5W Fast Charging Power Bank
  • [POCKET-SIZE 20000mAh.] Massive power for your pocket. Note: True 20,000mAh requires solid, high-density cells (approx. 11 oz). This portable charger is built incredibly dense to deliver 4 full phone charges without the bulk.
  • [DETACHABLE NYLON LANYARD.] Forget extra cords. The built-in USB-C cable acts as a convenient lanyard. Woven with ultra-durable nylon, it outlasts standard plastic by 3X. (Apple users can easily plug into the extra ports).
  • [TRUE 22.5W FAST CHARGE.] Stop waiting. Blast your Samsung S25 to 70% or iPhone 16 to 60% in just 25 minutes. Built-in thermal sensors actively dissipate heat, ensuring your device stays safe and cool.
  • [FLIGHT APPROVED & FLASHLIGHT.] The ultimate travel power bank. Its TSA-approved capacity easily passes airport security. Plus, the built-in flashlight provides instant illumination for power outages, camping, or searching your bag.
  • [3-YEAR HASSLE-FREE CARE.] Join 38 million+ global users relying on INIU’s SafeCharge tech. Crafted for daily durability. Any quality issues within 3 years? We’ll send a brand-new replacement, zero hassle.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

1. Anker Prime 27,650mAh 250W: best for maximum laptop power

The Anker Prime is the most capable option here for a traveler charging several devices or bringing a USB-C laptop. Anker lists a 27,650mAh capacity, two USB-C ports, one USB-A port, up to 250W total output, a display, and 170W maximum recharge input. The listed weight is about 665g, and the retrieved US product page showed $179.99.

That combination suits a business traveler or digital nomad who values charging flexibility more than a light bag. The display can make remaining charge easier to monitor, but 250W is a total maximum—not what each port supplies simultaneously. Check Anker’s port specifications against your devices, and remember that actual charging depends on the laptop’s requirements and the bank’s power allocation.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Travel caveat: This large-capacity model sits close to the usual 100Wh carry-on ceiling. Confirm the Wh marking on your actual unit before travel. Do not infer legal capacity solely from 27,650mAh or call it universally approved. It is also expensive and relatively heavy; it is excessive for many phone-only travelers. Anker’s official product page is the place to verify current specifications and availability.

Best Value
Sale
VRURC Portable Charger 4-Built-in-Cables 20000mAh Fast Charging Power Bank
  • 【All Devices. One Power.】No more digging through tangled cords in your bag or juggling multiple chargers. With all essential connectors built in—Type-C, Phone, Micro USB, and USB Type-A—plus two extra ports (one USB, one Type-C) for added convenience, this all-in-one power bank keeps your devices organized and ready. Charge your phone, tablet, headphones, or more—all at once—while traveling, commuting, or relaxing outdoors. Finally, a power bank that moves as freely as you do.
  • 【Fast. Safe. Balanced.】Tired of chargers that promise 20000mAh but barely reach 10000mAh? Our innovative dual premium cells deliver the full 20000mAh, providing stable, long-lasting power. Combined with smart 22.5W low-temperature fast charging, it’s fast enough to efficiently power your devices but never forces the battery, keeping it cool and protected.Get up to 50% in just 30 minutes. Reliable energy for your devices, letting you stay in control and worry-free wherever you go.
  • 【Slimmer. Better. Upgraded.】To solve the problem of most high-capacity power banks being thick, hard to hold, and inconvenient to carry, we designed our upgraded 19mm model—33% thinner than the old version. Slimmer than the usual 28–30mm, with a built-in strap made from premium-quality Micro USB cable, it can be held, hooked on your backpack, or swung on the go. Big capacity, easy handling, total freedom.
  • 【20,000mAh of Freedom for Every Device】Charge iPhones, Samsung Galaxy/Pixel phones, iPads, AirPods, Kindles, and most tablets. No need for multiple chargers—one power bank keeps your tech life running. With 3–4 full phone charges, it’s perfect for camping, flights, festivals, weekend trips, and emergencies. Fits easily in backpacks for on-the-go convenience.
  • 【Pay for Quality, Experience the Best】Life doesn’t slow down—and neither should you. Whether you're traveling, working, or enjoying a quiet moment, we’re here to keep you powered when it matters most. Thoughtfully designed and built to last, it’s more than just a power bank—it’s a reliable companion in your everyday life. If you ever need help, we’re always here for you.

2. UGREEN 145W 25,000mAh: best value laptop option

The UGREEN 145W 25,000mAh three-port bank is a plausible value choice for someone who needs laptop-capable output but does not want to pay the Anker Prime’s listed price. The official US listing showed a $69.99 sale price against $109.99 regular pricing; both can change.

Its 145W maximum suggests substantial output, but confirm the individual USB-C port’s limit and how the bank divides power with multiple devices. The retrieved listing did not clearly provide a Wh figure. Before relying on this model for a flight, check the rating printed on the unit or its official technical documentation. Do not treat an approximate calculation from advertised mAh as a substitute for a clear label when capacity is close to the limit.

Choose this one if the price and laptop-oriented output fit your needs and its marked Wh rating works for your itinerary. See UGREEN’s official US listing for current details.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

3. UGREEN Nexode 20,000mAh 130W: best conservative all-purpose choice

The Nexode is the easiest of these three to recommend to travelers who want useful output without using nearly all of the usual carry-on allowance. UGREEN’s listing identifies it as 20,000mAh and 72Wh, comfortably under 100Wh. It offers up to 130W output and a digital display. The retrieved price was $59.99 on sale, against $89.99 regular.

That capacity and output can suit phones, tablets, handheld devices, and many USB-C laptops, provided the relevant port supplies the wattage your device needs. It stores less energy than the two larger picks, so it is a weaker fit if you expect repeated laptop charging over several days without access to an outlet. As with any power bank, confirm the actual product label and port specifications. See the UGREEN product listing for current information.

Pack it safely: pre-flight checklist

  1. Read the label. Confirm the printed Wh rating; if it is missing, use the manufacturer’s internal voltage and capacity to calculate it.
  2. Pack it in the cabin. Keep it in a personal item or carry-on, never checked baggage.
  3. Keep it accessible. If your bag is gate-checked, remove the power bank and keep it with you.
  4. Protect it. Cover exposed ports or terminals, and use a pouch, sleeve, or original packaging. Keep it away from loose keys, coins, and other metal objects.
  5. Inspect its condition. Do not travel with a swollen, cracked, leaking, recalled, unusually hot, or otherwise damaged battery. Follow the maker’s or local disposal guidance; do not put a suspect battery in checked luggage. See the FAA lithium-battery safety resources.
  6. Check every carrier. Review the rules for each operating airline, especially when your trip includes international flights or connections.

These recommendations cover ordinary consumer power banks. Medical equipment, mobility devices, camera batteries, drones, and larger battery systems can have different requirements; check the relevant airline guidance for those items.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.