There’s nothing to hide: we’ve all blocked people for all sorts of reasons. Whether you’re finding it hard to block numbers on your Android phone or wondering what happens to block calls, this “call blocking guide” of ours is your best friend.
Here’s what this article is about finding:
- What happens when you block a number on Android?
- What happens when you block a number on T-Mobile?
- What happens when you block a number on Samsung Galaxy S10?
- How to know if someone has blocked you?
- How to contact a person who has blocked your number?
Smells like your cup of tea? Let’s gulp it at once.
- What Happens When You Block A Number On Android?
- How Do I Block Numbers From Calling and Texting Me on Android?
- Does The Caller Know You’ve Blocked Them?
- How To Know If Someone Has Blocked You?
- How To Contact a Person Who Has Blocked Your Number?
- FAQs About Blocked Contacts on Android
What Happens When You Block A Number On Android?
To put it simply, the caller can no longer contact you after being blocked. The phone calls will not ring through to your phone and will go directly to the voicemail, instead. As for the text messages, they won’t go through to your phone either. However, you can send a message and place a call from your end.
What Happens When You Block a Number on T-Mobile?
When you block someone on T-Mobile, they get one ring and are then directed to your voicemail.
Even though your phone will not ring, it will notify you when you receive the voicemail from the blocked number. You might also receive a silent message that will be broadcasted for around two to five seconds. The blocked number won’t be able to send you any messages though.
On the flip side, only you can call or message on that number because blocking is only in one direction with T-Mobile.
What Happens When You Block a Number on Samsung Galaxy S10?
When you block a number on Samsung Galaxy S10, the text messages and calls from that number will not arrive on your phone. However, you will still be able to text and call the blocked number. The recipient can answer your calls but not text messages.
What Happens When You Block a Number on an iPhone?
The blocked contact or phone number will not be able to call you, they can still leave a voicemail on your iPhone. However, neither will you receive any notification, nor be able to send or receive any messages either. When you block an email address, the blocked emails will go to the trash folder.
How Do I Block Numbers From Calling and Texting Me on Android?
We have provided some general instructions on how to block numbers on Android below. Although these instructions may vary from phone to phone, they will give you the idea.
To block a number from calling you:
- Open the Phone App.
- Go to Settings.
- Tap “Block Numbers”.
- Enter the number you want to block.
- Tap “Done”.
To block a number from texting you:
- Go to Messages App.
- Open the conversation of the contact you want to block.
- Tap “More”.
- Select the “Block Number” option.
Does The Caller Know You’ve Blocked Them?
We don’t always want people to know we’ve blocked them, and so, thinking “if I block a number, will they know?” is all-natural.
The blocked number will never receive any notification about being blocked. That’s because Google pays a lot of attention to your privacy and will never let a person know that you’ve blocked them.
Even though there is no definitive way for the caller to determine that you’ve blocked them, there are a couple of clues that might help them figure it out. For example, if the call is repeatedly diverted to the voicemail and they are getting radio silence from both texts and calls, they can make their guesses.
How To Know If Someone Has Blocked You?
If your calls and messages are not reaching them consistently, there is a high chance that you’re being blocked. However, there is no definitive way to find out if someone has blocked your calls and messages other than actually asking them.
If you don’t want to ask the person whether they’ve blocked you or not, you can try the following method to find out.
- Open the Contacts app on your smartphone.
- Tap the contact’s name that you suspect has blocked you.
- Tap the three vertical dots visible in the upper-right corner of the screen.
- Delete the contact information.
- Open the Contacts app again.
- Go to the search bar and type in the contact’s name.
- If the name appears as a suggested contact, it is likely that they didn’t block you. However, if the name doesn’t appear, they’ve possibly blocked you.
How To Contact a Person Who Has Blocked Your Number?
You can contact a person that has blocked your number by calling them through another phone. But, if this idea doesn’t seem enticing, you can make a call by hiding your caller ID as well. For this reason, some people complain about the blocked number still getting through Android.
The steps to hide caller ID are as follows:
- Open the Settings App on your phone.
- Tap “More” in the drop-down menu.
- Go to “More Settings” and tap “Show My Caller ID”.
- A pop-up will appear. Tap “Hide Number”.
- Make a call to the person that has blocked you after hiding your number.
Note: If the Caller ID Blocking Feature has been disabled by your carrier, it will not work on your Android phone.
FAQs About Blocked Contacts on Android
Before concluding the article, let’s check out some frequently asked questions about blocked contacts on Android.
How long do numbers stay blocked on Android?
The blocked number stays blocked forever unless you remove it from your blocked list manually. The blocking can even be transferred to a new device depending on how they are transferred.
What does a blocked caller hear on Android?
Blocked callers only hear the phone ring once before it is diverted to the voicemail. After that, the call is disconnected.
What happens when you block a number on WhatsApp?
When you block a number on WhatsApp, you will not receive any calls, messages, notifications, or status updates from that number. Additionally, you and the blocked contact will not be able to see when you two were last online, even if both of you have their last seen status turned on.
Do WhatsApp texts say delivered if you’re blocked?
If you are blocked on WhatsApp, any text message you send to that person will only show one checkmark. There won’t be a second checkmark indicating that the message has been delivered.
Avoiding the annoying calls, text messages, and spammers is just a tap away now. You won’t receive any calls or text messages from the number you’ve blocked. Moreover, the person you block won’t even know unless he figures it out himself. However, in some cases, the blocked number can still reach you by hiding their Caller ID. So, be aware of that.
Still, got any questions about blocking a number on Android? Ask us in the comment section below.
Love reading about smartphones? Here’s what to read next: